A fond farewell to the Americas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 17th 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The change of seasons is dramatic in North America, constant reader. Spring is upon us and there is a tangible bounce in the step of the locals, who must feel like bears emerging from hibernation in spite of the substantial snow covering still on the ground. The travel journal continues from Quebec City, with the weather warming up for my lover and I as we enjoyed a weekend going out and meeting her friends. The restaurant food was superb, the city was a picture and the Quebecers I met were generous and friendly. However it was soon time to move on and south is the new plan. I had a great time and wish to extend many thanks to my special friend for her hospitality. Quebec is a beautiful city, and as my host you definitely qualify as a quadruple D -- Dinner, Dancing, Drinks, Delightful ... though that doesn´t start until after the dinner, dancing and drinks of course! It's been a wonderful experience sharing with you again.

I took the greyhound south across the border back to the United States and on to New York City, which is the most famous and possibly the greatest city in the
Statue of Liberty, NYCStatue of Liberty, NYCStatue of Liberty, NYC

Taken after arriving on the island.
world. I love New York and spent two action packed days cramming in the sights of this magnificent city. You could spend a lifetime in New York, as there's so much to see and do here. I checked into the quality Malibu Hotel in Manhattan on my first night, chatted to my new roommates and then popped my head out the window to say regards! Oh yes, I was staying on Broadway on the Upper West Side mere blocks from the Theatre District, Times Square and Central Park. I strolled the Museum Mile on 5th Avenue, then cruised down Madison Avenue ogling the exclusive stores lining the avenue. Then I pushed on to 57th Street past Carnegie Hall and several more designer label boutique stores where the staff are ominously dressed in black and ooze an aura that screams *Give me your money*. Those super posh stores could do some serious damage to the bank balance, so I legged it back to Broadway!

There followed the dazzling lights of Times Square, the Broadway theatres and then back on the subway to Lower Manhattan. I visited Wall Street, the New York Stock Exchange, and on to the World Trade Centre
I'm just a walkin' the dog(s)I'm just a walkin' the dog(s)I'm just a walkin' the dog(s)

Dogwalker strolling down 5th Avenue near Central Park. The official dog count was 11.
site to pay my respects. Following an earlier tip from a New Yorker I also visited the fancy Apple Store in Soho, and gave their new computers an extensive test run by using the internet for free! I´m sure the staff know we all do it, but they probably figure any exposure is good exposure. I noted during my brief stay that New Yorkers have been friendly and helpful to me. I didn´t witness people charging around like blank faced robots (not even on Wall Street) and I got some smiles and a good morning while strolling around. But don´t be concerned, I didn´t try to say g'day to every person I crossed paths with like Crocodile Dundee did in the groundbreaking Australian movie. I love the scene when he arrived in the big apple from the Australian scrub, ¨G'day¨ he says to the bemused New Yorkers as he passes by ¨Mick Dundee from Australia¨. Ah Hoges, a true Australian icon, onya mate!

I asked one gent on my first night if I was on the right line to 103rd street, he said yes and then proceeded to reel off the street numbers of the stations before my stop including a conversation with his son as to whether a certain street number should be included. That man made me feel like a character in a Woody Allen movie. Manhattan Island is the most famous of the five boroughs that comprise New York, and is brilliantly planned on a grid with an extensive subway and bus network that allows you to see the many world famous sights with a minimum of fuss. It's definitely my kind of city...

Then I caught a plane from JFK to Mexico City via Dallas-Fort Worth. Mexico City is a megalopolis with over twenty million inhabitants, and seems to go on forever when you fly in. I checked into the quality Hostel Catedral in the heart of the historical centre, and it felt strange to be in the middle of such a massive city yet surrounded by beautiful old buildings and cobblestone streets. I had two days to explore Zocalo in the heart of this great city and enjoyed my stay. The historical area provided plenty of photo opportunities, and the traffic was not congested in this district. Mexico City also has a first rate metro system and it's easy to get around, although catching the metro during peak period is as bad as Tokyo. Basically you just barge or get barged in to a carriage as part of the general scrum.

This selection of journal entries from the Americas concludes where it began with an overnight flight to Santiago Chile, and a day in transit to stroll around while happily ensconced again in latino culture. I wish to pay tribute to everyone I met during my travels, as you have all contributed to making the last six months a consistently stimulating and memorable experience. Although it's not possible to bring it in for the real thing, I extend a virtual hug or handshake to all of you with my warmest regards. The best way to describe the wonderful adventures I've enjoyed while travelling through the Americas is to simply say, basically all of you should be here now!


The heart has it's reasons, of which reason knows nothing." Blaise Pascal


It's home time so until next time, I'm signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

New York City fire truckNew York City fire truck
New York City fire truck

Across the street from Ground Zero.


15th March 2006

Tom is returning
How are we ever going to keep you down on the farm now?
16th March 2006

welcome home down under mate!!
welcome back to australasia tommy boy. wow your trip sounded fantastic tommy i am looking forward to hearing the bits you didnt put in your travel blogg when i catch up with you in the future. hope you can settle, i am still finding my feet here in nz, bye for now jade

Tot: 0.394s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 41; qc: 163; dbt: 0.2516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb