A Day in the Capital


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Santiago and the Andes from Cerro San CristobelSantiago and the Andes from Cerro San CristobelSantiago and the Andes from Cerro San Cristobel

Views of the city and the Andes, although smoggy, from Cerro San Cristobel.
I decided only to devote one day in Santiago. I spent a month there last year learning Spanish. I am satisfied of what I had already seen there on that trip. This time, Santiago would only be used as a base at the very beginning and the very end of my trip. It is likely I will be going through the bus terminal to changes buses for elsewhere during the trip.

Cerro San Cristobel

I began the day exploring the park. Last year, I rode up on the funicular and saw the Virgen de lmmaculada. This time, I wanted a ride on the telefrico and the ride was worth it for the views, although smoggy, of the Andes. I was in need of some exercise so I did a lot of walking around the park. It was very hot but it did not deter the dog walkers, cyclists, runners, walkers and myself going up and down hills. It was a pity the outside swimming pools were closed as it was a perfect opportunity to cool down!

Downtown

Had a wonder Downtown and took photos of sights I had not seen previously including the Teatro municipal, Museo de
Santiago and the Andes from Cerro San CristobelSantiago and the Andes from Cerro San CristobelSantiago and the Andes from Cerro San Cristobel

Another view from Cerro San Cristobel!
Santiago, Bolsa de Comercial, the Newspaper building etc. It was nice soaking in the atmosphere at Plaza de Armas.

In the evening, I caught the overnight bus down to Puerto Varas in the Chilean Lake District.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Japenese GardensJapenese Gardens
Japenese Gardens

In the Cerro San Cristobel Park
Monument of AllendeMonument of Allende
Monument of Allende

The president who contributed to significant chapters of Chilean history.


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 23; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb