Visa showdown


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Maule » Talca
July 10th 2012
Published: July 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well – I thought that last week was my last trip to Talca, but like many other times here in Chile, my expectations were unfulfilled. As I am here in Chile for over 3 months, I have to obtain a visa. The program that I’m with helped me start the visa, but they certainly don’t help finish it. I hadn’t heard anything official about my visa, and the paperwork I did have was expired. I began to imagine showing up at the airport in a few weeks only for them to say I can’t travel. So, I asked around, and the first 3 people I asked did not respond. I finally was able to find some counseling on what I should do from the people in Santiago. They advised me to go to Talca – where I had gone to begin the visa process. There, I would not be able to get my visa yet, but I would be able to renew the paperwork I did have – a simple, one-trip fix. I made plans to go Tuesday afternoon so as to not miss any classes.



Monday, I woke extremely congested as I have been for the last 1+ weeks. In addition, my voice was practically gone. During my first class, every time I asked the students to repeat something, they mimicked my little high pitched, soft voice. After that, I thought it best to go ahead and make the trip to Talca rather than try to do a lot of talking the rest of the day. <span> In Talca, I would also be able to see the doctor recommended by my travel insurance provider. It was time to get some relief.



I arrived in Talca about 12:30 and hurried toward the gobernacion office because they close for a lunch break (like most of the rest of Chile) 1:30-3:00. I was dropped off by a colectivo too close to the Pucon Bakery though not to stop by and grab my favorite chocolate filled pastry – still warm!



I found the gobernacion without too much trouble, walked into the office, and proceeded to explain my situation to the woman behind the desk. Apparently, the resolution was not at all what I had anticipated. She replied that actually my visa was indeed ready. I need only leave my passport for one day for the gobernador to sign it. He’s not here today. Tomorrow you can pick it up and proceed with the next steps. I then explained that this was not possible for me. I live in Constitucion, and I cannot travel to Talca at whatever time. I have obligations in Conti. The discussion then turned to argument. “No, everyone has to do the same no matter where they live.” She said a little more heatedly. I suggested the solution that the woman in Santiago had provided me to no avail. I refused to accept returning the next day, and in a bout of frustration, my little hoarse voiced raised I said, “obviously, I’m sick. I travelled here today to try and take care of this. You’re asking me to miss another day of school during my last week of teaching. I’m here to help students, and I have to miss class for this after no one told me what to do in advance?” She then replied, “I’ll call to see if the gobernador is in to sign your visa.” A brief phonecall proceeded and 20 minutes later, I had my visa, signed in hand. Yes – she lied to me initially. Yes – this was all said in Spanish. Yes – I won.



The day was not over though. After getting a signature, you have to go through two more steps to complete the process. Each of these steps is completed in a different building - about 15 minute walks between them. I went to step 2 only to find the people I needed had left for lunch (contrary to what gobernacion lady told me), so I decided to check out where this clinic was. I arrived about 2:20 and decided to go ahead and try to see the doctor while I was there – anticipating that I would probably not make it back by 3:00pm. Wrong again! Apparently, there exist efficient clinics because I was in and out of there with my prescription in hand in less than 30 minutes!



I was then able to complete step 2 without a problem and advised that step 3 could be completed in Constitucion. Thank the Lord! I sent my 3 Talca colleagues a text asking to hang out, and we talked over pastries at a coffee/dessert spot for our last get-together in Chile. Always good to end a day with friends.

Advertisement



11th July 2012

Feel better!
I know that was a frustrating ordeal especially when you are sick! Glad you got it over with! Hope your meds do the trick and you feel better quickly! And yes, it is always good to be with friends! Wish your mom and I could get together soon. It's been a very long time since I've seen her. Do I detect a hint of "I'm ready to be home" in your voice?!?! Will be good to see you home safe and sound! Sandy
12th July 2012

Bravo!!!!
Good for you, May! You were able to think what to say on the spot and your confident spirit got your message across! Government officials are protected all over the world I suppose. Sure hope step #3 is accomplished smoothly! My first comment on your blog!!! Love you!
12th July 2012

passport?
If you had left your passport, they would have demanded a bribe to give it back to you.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb