First Day with a Host Family


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Maule » Talca
March 31st 2012
Published: April 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Absolutely amazing! After a week and a half of orientation over which all 50 of us travel bugs became closer than we could have ever imagined, everyone parted ways. I left the hostel with several others- that is Cody, Valeria, Kirby, Justine - around 12:30 today and then took the bus to Talca. Coming into town we could see earthquake destruction and a bit of a rundown appearance. The area has greenery but it's also a bit dusty too. It wasn't quite like driving to Bishops.
I exited the bus and soon after I received a greeting, "Emelia?" and Maria Gloria was the first one to find me. Warm and friendly, it was a great first encounter. The Spanish came pretty freely between us, and I was very surprised. Soon after, I met Francisca, my "sister." She is fantastic about reading my comprehension on my face and simplifying things. Everyone is extremely warm. All my friends in Talca already have invites to come see Constitucion or "Conti."
We then took a cab to the family abode in Talca where they often spend their weekends. It's a simple place and definitely aged, but it's homey with a nice dining table, cozy living area, and a ton of beds! I've met much of the family now including little Antonela and Emiliano, the chiquitos. They take a lot of attention so I don't have to take it all! Once (ohn-seh) was soon to follow and we feasted on humitas, a tamale like dish but solely the corn part. I topped mine with fresh chopped tomatos which was great!
After once, we went into the center of town to visit the mall where we first had dessert (a little unusual) and then go to a wine festival! It was absolutely fantastic with lots of people, food (including a roasted pig), wine, interesting crafts for sale and dancing. There was a wonderful presentation of dancing - mostly Cueca, the Chilean national dance, but also a great mix of dances from all over South America. The troop that performed was amazing - one dance after another! I loved the music there, and the music everywhere! They've got it playing in the house and there's a great mix of my favorite latino pop - of course including lots of good stuff I've never heard before. Did you know Beyonce sings in Spanish? I know, mind blowing.
I should mention my host mom and sis are quite short. Maria Gloria is about 1 head shorter than me and Francisca is like 3 inches shorter than that! We were a cute staggared parade through the feria: me, Maria Gloria, Francisca, and Antonela (and her balloon).
It is just magical though. I couldn't have asked for a better first day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb