First Day of School


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Maule » Constitución
April 3rd 2012
Published: April 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There was a quiz planned for today, so I didn't get to observe but one class of activities. I found that yes - kids are the same. I gave a short introduction of myself to which the class was a buzz after every statement I made. I waited and they thankfully quieted down. During the lessons however, the noise level was much higher than my comfort level. I hope that I can work out a style that works for everyone.
Sayuri, Carlos (the other English Teacher), the Conductor, and I met over tea and cookies to discuss the plans for my time here. Sayuri's class waited under supervision until we returned like 20-30 minutes late. Apparently, I'm going to be interviewed next week for the local television station. That should be interesting! I also learned that the Conductor wants me to interact with as many students as possible. I have a feeling my shedule is going to be quite full...
At 1:00, we receive an hour and a half break for lunch during which I return home. Today is pretty cold and gray, so when I walked out of my room for lunch and saw a steaming bowl of casuelo I couldn't have been happier! This one had a few different things in it from before: chicken, potatoes, a pumpkin like veggie, herbs, and other things too. Then there was salad with lemon and salt, a nice large bowl of fruit, and finally, a hot cup of tea. Perfecto!
In the evening, Sayuri invited me out with her to see the town. We ended up going first to the beach, passing by the great wood processing plant and then a dance club with giant windows (kinda strange). There was only a tiny bit of sunlight remaining on the horizon but enough to see the huge rocks in the water. One was absolutely covered with birds. The water too was visible in all its strength and glory. Huge waves crashed right up against the shore. It was really beautiful. Next we went to a choir rehearsal! Sayuri said that she'd been invited before but never went. They were absolutely awesome! Singers, repertoire, director... such a strong sound and the director was a very talented singer. He has offered to share a whole bunch of Chilean/Argentinian/Latino folk music with me! When I said that one of the reasons I came to Chile was to experience the music, I didn't expect to find so much and be able to take it home with me! Love it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb