calafate, aerolineas argentinas, patagonian wind, bus trip and chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
March 31st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Let's start with the present: I'm in Chile, in punta arenas, which is directly at the Magallanian street. It's quite different from what I've seen so far, and it's quite cold. When we crossed the Argentinian border in rio turbio it was snowing...I hope there's no Argentinian reading this blog, but the Chilenos are calmer, better organised, and politer...which isn't necessarily better, but nice for tourists. Within 4 weeks I experienced hot+humid, hot+dry, warm+humid, cool+humid, cold+dry, cold+wet...which is quite tough for the body, especially the skin.

Calafate is a growing city, which is surprising since it's in the middle of nowhere, and as far as I know there's no industry, no agriculture, no university...what do people do there?? And it isn't very well reachable by bus...which brings me to aerolineas argentinas. You know I'm not a big fan of them, but in Bariloche they didn't charge me for having a slightly too heavy luggage! 1 point for aerolineas argentinas.

The danger of these bus trips isn't the speed, the traffic or the tired drivers, it's the Patagonian wind. This wind is very strong and the bus drivers usually can't drive a straight line. But anyway, I don't understand the people who don't like the bus trips. I see so many things during these 6-14h. Today for example, I saw so many huge birds, also some Emu-like ones - amazing.

I don't know yet exactly what I'm going to do here. The trekkings are very long and it's already getting too cold and wet. But there are some tours that are still possible and I'll enjoy being almost at the end of the world.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb