Punta Arenas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
December 4th 2009
Published: December 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buongiorno,

From a very hot Santiago de Chile.....over 30 at 10.30am......makes a change from freezing Punta Arenas!!

Ok lets go back a couple of days, as i have not had the chance to get internet connection......

As I said Torres de Paine was spectacular, but a lot less so was Puerto Natales and Punta Arenas. In fact I was dissapointed with Punta arenas as originally I had planned to make it a base to explore the end of the world....I am so glad that I made Ushuaia the longer base as it had so much more to offer......and it is the real stepping stone to Antarctica.....look at the images and make your own mind up......if you plan to ever come this far south, make it Ushuaia always.
Yesterday I decided that because these were some of the finest unpoluted seas in the planet.....the local fish must be fantastic...........well I took advice from the tourist agency as to where the finest fish restaurant was in Punta Arenas and after a good half hour asking various people directions to the restaurant.....I found it, and it was about 3/4 full.....always a good sign. The waitress brought the menu, and there were the usual suspects....king crab, which I had in Ushuaia (delicious )...mussels, prawns etc.......but then I saw Magellan Cod......wow!!....I asked if it was battered but the waitress explained that it was grilled......no matter.....I ordered chips with it....she said I should order the complete dish....bring it on.......I was almost salivating by the time it came.............

You know that feeling when expectation turns to dissapointment......I saw this mound of food with two fried eggs spread over the whole lot........."Oh...eggs" I excliamed....those were going to be the best part of the dish!!!!! The fish was limp and tasteless....the chips awefull...soggy and not correct potatoes...they were sweet...ugh.....the whole lot was swimming in masses of fried onion....as I said the two fried eggs...excellent!!I felt like going into the kitchen an showing them how to do it properly.....worse than Uig ( Lara knows what I mean)

After that massive dissapointment how could I save the day......cause there was nothing to do in Punta Arenas...so I went 80 kms to a nesting site for penguins and had an enjoyable three hours on the Pacific coast.....the wind and the cold was incredible.

So now it is near the end of the trip.......today Santiago and in the morning Valparaiso and Vina del Mar.....

Enjoy the images....( Blue Moon for Lara )

ciao

M


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Puerto NatalesPuerto Natales
Puerto Natales

The bay at Puerto Natales is called Ultima Esperanza (Last Hope )...thats what I felt when I got there
Christmas in Punta ArenasChristmas in Punta Arenas
Christmas in Punta Arenas

It looks a bit sad.........


4th December 2009

The final straight
Well, Fats - you're into the final straight now. What a last 4 weeks it's been ; Peru, Chile, the girls, even more girls, Argentina, Ushuaia (which appears to have been your fave place) and now back to Chile. As you don't need to schlepp anything around with you any more, now's the time to go crazy and buy me all those presents !!!! Enjoy the weekend, and above all, look forward to talking to you when you get back. Ciao.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb