Where to see Wildlife near Punta Arenas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
January 21st 2023
Published: January 21st 2023
Edit Blog Post

Magellanic Penguins, Isla MagdalenaMagellanic Penguins, Isla MagdalenaMagellanic Penguins, Isla Magdalena

I've been to Isla Magdalena twice now (2019 and 2022) and loved it! The penguins go about their lives completely ignoring the people who walk along a set path on the island. You're supposed to keep a distance between you and the penguins and not scare them. No loud noises or fast movement. Both times I've been people are respectful and I had a great experience.
This and all my blogs are available on my website with more photos https://heatherjasper.com/chile/wildlife-near-punta-arenas

Say Hueque organized my penguin and whale watching tours. I went with them because of their environmental mission to go beyond sustainability. They were also super easy to work with! Highly recommended!

The three most popular tours from Punta Arenas are also my favorites. This isn’t always the case. I often find the most popular places have become overly commercial, overly crowded or just plain boring. These tours are worth your time. The half day tour to see Magellanic penguins on Isla Magdalena, the full day tour to Tierra del Fuego and the full day whale watching tours truly are fantastic. I also recommend independently visiting Pali Aike National Park and the Magallanes National Reserve.

Isla Magdalena & Isla Marta (half day)

This is an absolute must. It’s short, it’s easy and you get to walk within mere feet of Magellanic Penguins. Of course, walking near penguins comes with a lot of rules. The most important are no littering and no scaring the penguins. As long as you don’t run, yell, make loud noises or approach the penguins, you won’t scare them. The two
Penguins by the path!Penguins by the path!Penguins by the path!

Isla Magdalena has a clear path for people to walk on and the penguins are so unbothered by our presence that some of them dig their nests right next to the path. It was amazing how close they came to me without paying me any attention!
times I visited the island, everybody followed the rules and penguins sauntered by within three to four feet of me many times. If they get closer than five feet, you’re supposed to back slowly away.

Unfortunately, the penguin population of Isla Magdalena is declining. While more research is needed, what we know now is that the penguins’ favorite food (sardines) is declining in the Strait of Magellan. The population on other islands farther north, where sardine numbers are growing, is also growing. Some day, Magellanic penguins may move their main nesting ground from Isla Magdalena, which is so easily accessible from Punta Arenas. All the more reason to go now! Say Hueque set me up with Solo Expediciones and both times had a fantastic experience. Their guides are knowledgeable, friendly and great at keeping both people and wildlife safe.

Isla Marta

If the weather is decent, after Isla Magdalena you’ll go by Isla Marta to see the sea lions. You can’t get off the boat or even get very close to the island, so don’t expect to get up close to any sea lions. The island itself is a giant guano pile from the cormorants that cover the island.
Humpback Whale and Sea LionsHumpback Whale and Sea LionsHumpback Whale and Sea Lions

The most amazing tour I've done from Punta Arenas is the whale watching tour of Francisco Coloane Marine Park. You get to see whales, sea lions, penguins, cormorants, glaciers and more. Highly recommended!


Tierra del Fuego & King Penguins (full day)

This day is about so much more than penguins - though I’ll admit that was my draw the first time. I did this tour with Turismo Selknam in 2019 and then retraced the steps to do it all again on my own in 2022. If you do it as a one day tour, it’s a very long day. You’ll get on a van which boards the ferry from Punta Arenas to Porvenir. From Porvenir you’ll drive almost two hours to the King Penguin colony. After the penguins, you’ll go north across the most desolate part of Tierra del Fuego to the Punta Delgada ferry crossing. This is only a half hour ferry ride and you have a good chance of spotting Commerson's dolphins, called tonina overa in Spanish. From there you’ll drive south to Punta Arenas, stopping along the way at a shipwreck and a few historical sites.

When I retraced the tour alone in a rental car in March 2022, I did it backwards. I drove north from Punta Arenas and crossed on the Punta Delgada ferry to Tierra del Fuego. I drove down to Porvenir, then on another day
King Penguin Colony, Tierra del FuegoKing Penguin Colony, Tierra del FuegoKing Penguin Colony, Tierra del Fuego

I visited this king penguin colony in 2019 and 2022. Both times I had a great view from a wooden bird blind to the penguin colony. It's a long day to get from Punta Arenas over to Tierra del Fuego and back. Take two or three days if you can and stay in Porvenir. (My favorite place to stay in Hospedaje Shinka).
visited the King Penguin colony at La Reserva Natural Pinguino Rey. You need a reservation to see the penguins, since groups must go with a guide to ensure that nobody bothers the penguins. Owner Cecilia Durán let me go by myself this time, since I’d been communicating with her for months about visiting and I already knew the protocols.

Cecilia Durán has a fascinating story. Her husband’s family used to raise sheep on their land, until penguins started to appear on the beach. When the King Penguins established a colony in 2010, they had to quickly find a way to protect them. Read more about her here (in Spanish).

Whale Watching (full day)

The third time is the charm! I had this tour canceled on me twice due to strong winds (2019 and 2022) before finally getting to go in 2023! As it was, there were several times when I went out on deck that I had to tighten my hood to keep my alpaca hat and glasses from being blown off. When a ferry or tour boat is cancelled for strong winds, consider those to be gale force winds. Again, Say Hueque sent me with Solo Expediciones, which is the only company in Punta Arenas who does this
The Captain's ChartThe Captain's ChartThe Captain's Chart

The entire chart from where we started to where we saw the glacier covered a whole table. This is only the last bit, where we saw whales and the glacier where we had lunch and then turned around.
trip. I had a great experience and highly recommend them!

This is a very long day that usually starts with a 4:00am pick up from your hotel. You’ll be on a bus for an hour before you get to the boat. Once on board, you have about two hours until you start to see whales. In the mean time, there is unlimited coffee, tea and hot chocolate and you are served breakfast. Expect both breakfast and lunch to be heavy on carbs and similar to airplane food. If you want something more substantial than carbs, bring your own.

We saw several humpback whales and they came quite close to the ship. They breathe very loudly and you can see the white underside of their fins in the water next to the ship. It was magical! We went through the same area with whales before and after lunch. You’ll go as far as Seno Helado (Frozen Sound or Ice Cream Sound, depending on how you want to translate it) to see the glacier before having lunch.

You also get to go by some islands in Francisco Coloane Marine Park where you can see Magellanic Penguins. These are the
Pali Aike National ParkPali Aike National ParkPali Aike National Park

I saw a lot of rhea (ñandu in Spanish) and guanaco in Pali Aike. It's a long drive from Punta Arenas but totally worth it for the hikes, lava flows and wildlife.
same as on Isla Magdalena, but rather than living out in the open like most penguin colonies, these ones live in the forest. It’s something you’ll not see on any other penguin tours.

Pali Aike National Park

This is one of the least-visited national parks near Punta Arenas, but well worth your time. I saw guanaco, rhea (ñandu in Spanish), foxes, hares and lots of birds. If you’re lucky, you’ll also see puma.

It has three lava flows, the oldest from about 10 million years ago and the most recent from about 10,000 years ago. There’s a cave in the largest crater from the oldest flow that has evidence of human habitation about 10,000 years ago. The cave has a great view of the newer lava flow and I like to imagine that people stood right where I did, watching the earth open up and lava flow out. Of course, carbon dating isn’t that exact and people could have arrived there a few hundred years later, or even ten years later. Most artifacts have been taken to museums in Chile.

It’s a two and a half hour drive from Punta Arenas and I recommend going with your own car so you can control how much time you spend at each place in the park.

Magallanes National Reserve

So close to town that you can go there in a taxi (600 pesos), this reserve has a well maintained hiking trail and several view points that look out over the Strait of Magellan. The park entry fee is high for what you get, but it’s still a nice place for a walk in the forest. I saw several condors, but didn’t get any good photos. This is a great place for birders, if you enjoy identifying lots of little forest birds.

Advertisement



1st February 2023

Absolutely Beautiful
I's sorry for being so slow in commenting on this amazing and beautiful trip. You take some of the most amazing trips. Although, I am embarking on a trip of my own on Monday, February 6th. My sister Robin and I are going on a 10-day Carribean Cruise. We will be visiting six islands. I am so excited. I don't have a travel blog, but I will send Pictures when I can. I miss you my friend.

Tot: 0.602s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 25; qc: 119; dbt: 0.237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb