Puerto Natales and Punta Arenas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Puerto Natales
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Puerto Natales with the intention of getting out bags in order and heading out the following morning to begin the 8 day circuit around the Torres del Paine. In getting my stuff in order I realized how much I underestimated this hike. I did not have the propper cold weather gear. Coming from Chalten and Calafate I also wanted to take a day to relax. I left my four Israeli friends the next day and walked around town looking to meet some people.

I met four locals who I ended up going out with for the next two nights. They were on vacation from Punta Arenas and invited me back to their homes. I had yet to hike in Torres del Paine but to a degree, I did not feel like doing it. I had hiked Fitz Roy and it was amazing. I was sure Torres del Paine would be no less but at the time, I just did not feel the urge to.

I set out with them the next morning by bus to Puerta Arenas. It was about 3 hours by bus through the hills and along the water. I was asleep for most of the ride as I said, the five of us had gone out till late the night before.

We arrived in Punta Arenas and my four friends told me they would give me a tour of the city before the asado. Punta Arenas is set along the water and acts as a port city. There is a Penguine colony here, and just 3 hours aways by boat you can see whales.

Fernando, Yadro, Javier, Dusan and I headed to Javiers to make an asado. Javier introduced me to his family. We cooked, listened to music and drank many cervesas in the under the sun. It really was a great time. With this, I really did not mind missing the Torres del Paine.

Today I walked around the Punta Arenas eating at a Churizzo place that all four of them recommended to me. The restaurant was mobbed with people, all waiting to get some food. It kind of reminded me of the atmosphere at Diffaras pizza in Brooklyn. Just because your there and you order, it does not mean you are going to get your food. It was an experience.

Tonight I head to Puerto Montt with the help of LAN Airlines. From there I´ll take my time to reach Pucon, Valpraiso, and Santiago before heading back into Argentina to explore the north.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Center Monument in ChileCenter Monument in Chile
Center Monument in Chile

When you kiss the toe it is said to bring good luck


Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb