Merry Christmas from Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
December 21st 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey! I guess you will all be finishing up work today so just note to say and a wonderful Christmas and a very happy and healthy New Year.
Spent a few days in Santiago - stayed away from City Centre and spent the time in Bellavista - a really nice area with lots of restaurants and bars. Went to the top of Cerro San Cristobal which had great views of the city and also a really nice Church and statue of Mary over looking the city. Photos to follow will desribe it better (I keep on forgetting to bring my USB cable with me which is why the photos are so behind!). I was in the church looking at the most amazing crib I have ever seen - so simple with lots of straw and flowing water (maybe it was the smell and sound that made it so special for me) - anyway, saying a few prayers and reflecting when a few tourists starting taking photos and talking. I got cross and gave a very sharp "SHUSH!" out of me - they jumped a mile and looked so startled (I almost started laughing, thank goodness I did not as it would have ruined my "have some respect" stance). They shut up then but boy did I get dirty looks from them as I was leaving - I won´t mention what nationality they were!
Fab pool on adjacent hill connected by cable car - but unfortunately it had just closed when we got there. It was so hot and sunny too that a swim would have been heaven.
No mad nights out in Santiago - nice food and wine. Feel well rested for the holiday (or one day!) season!
Took a bus to La Serena yesterday - arrived at 9.30 so it was dark.... don´t you love waking up the next morning to look out and have no idea what to expect?? This is a lovely beach resort - my hotel is one block from the beach with a gorgeous big pool and gardens. Took a stoll around this morning and plan to spend the afternoon on the beach. Good waves for bodyboarding but unfortunately not for regular surfing - still have not been surfing - think I will have to wait until the beaches of Peru at this stage.
Still not sure where I will be for Christmas - heading to travel agents now to sort out planes/trains/buses... hope to be in Salta in North West Argentina... Will keep you posted. Would like to get something booked as time is ticking - I can´t belive it is almost the end of December.... These have been the fastest five weeks ever.... times really does fly when you´re having fun.
Enjoy the holidays, will miss you but look forward to seeing you all in 2008. Take care, Love Lisa xxx

Advertisement



21st December 2007

Christmas
Hey there, Glad to see you're still having a ball - and getting in your visits to Mass/Church! Very important at this time of year! Hope you book in somewhere fab for Christmas - no doubt you will ! And sure have a glass of mulled wine on me! (to be reimbursed in 2008...) Be careful as I know you are - a guy from Laois went missing in South America somewhere, his family got worries when he didn't email in a week and his backpack has since been found but he hasn't. Don't want to scare you but worth mentioning so you're double careful. XXX
21st December 2007

Happy Christmas
Hey Missus, have a great Xmas over there where-ever you end up. We'll all have some turkey for u!!! xx

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb