Antuco / Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Biobío
September 20th 2014
Published: September 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So here I sit in Antuco in a hostel that has 15 rooms, a bar and a restaurant. And guess what? I have it all to myself. There is nobody, not even the owner, here. The guy just signed me in, I paid my $32 for two night, showed me my room and left. The town is dead as well. But let’s start where I left of in Conception…..

After my last entry I spend one more day in Conception and Sebastian took me out of the town to the coast to show me around. It wasn't a long bus trip and it only took about an hour. The town (the name I can’t remember) was built by the Spanish around 1680 and was an important harbor. Even the pirate Sir Francis Drake showed up one day and was repelled. It was a real shame to see all the canons defaced with scratched in names and graffiti everywhere. Sebastian told me that most people do not have any feelings towards their heritage, so they destroy everything. Sad really.

Back in Conception we just walked around and talked about life in Chile, the history of the town and what challenges the Chilean people have. Sebastian was a real good companion during my time there and I had a wonderful time. As a tourist destination I wouldn't recommend Conception as there is really not much to see or to do.

On Thursday I set of to Los Angeles which was only a two hour bus trip. As this was the national Independence Day everything was closed as well. Lucky me that the owner of the hostel and his brother Marco picked me up from the bus station and drove me to their place. There I was promptly invited to a Chilean BBQ, including beef, chicken and pork. Man that was good. Marco spoke a very good English so the conversation was easy. The room I had was small but had everything I needed. And I got a small gas heater as well so it was nice and cosy.

After the BBQ I went off to explore the city and I was lucky enough to be part of the town parade. People everywhere in their national costumes, music blaring everywhere and of course the parade itself, including the army. The smell of BBQ’s, roasted nuts, etc etc. It was great.

The next day the town was dead and I couldn't really do much. There is not much to see in Los Angeles so I did what ones does in that situation; download some movies and watch them, repacked the backpack and just relaxed.

In the evening I found a small restaurant that was open and as I was hungry I tried to order some food from the menu. By now I know what chicken (pollo), meat (carne) and pork (cerdo) is, but not how it is cooked or what comes with it. So I just pointed at something with meat and hoped for the best. Turned out it was very nice and came with some really good Chilli sauce. So this experience was a good one……

This morning I took the bus to Antuco which supposed to be on the foot of a volcano. Just a lazy two hour drive and all was good. Except that I didn't know when we were in Antuco and nobody told me to get off. So I continued another 10 km until I was told that this is the end of the line and I had to get out. So here I was in the middle of nowhere. So I hitchhiked my way back to the last big town I remembered passing through – which was Antuco.

And here I am. The town is not very big and I must have walked around it at least 4 times just to do something. As nothing is open I had to buy some bread roles in a corner store and a sausage as well as a can of tuna; that my dinner tonight. Not really what I expected but such is life.

I tried to find some tour information but there is nothing around. What I have found out is that the national park with the volcano is another 33 km from here but no tours go from here. The only way to get there is to hitchhike there and back. So I will set out to do this tomorrow as I really want to see the volcano and the lake. What I have read and heard about it sounds great.



So wish me luck with finding some transport and more important a lift back to town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



22nd September 2014

Penco
Welf, the name of the town is Penco and was founded not in 1680, but in 1550. It was the original location of Concepcion and the third oldest city (although now it's only a town) of Chile, after Santiago and La Serena, respectively. The fort was the one built in 1687. By the way, the other town we visited was Tome. Cheers mate.

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb