Chile!!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama
September 26th 2012
Published: October 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Im sorry but have not been able to sit at a computer for a long time for a while so am having to do this blog from memory.

After the salt flats I was dropped off at the Bolivian boarder and meet by a guy to take me across to Chile, you could instanly see that Chile has more money the Bolivia the roads and infrusture was much better. After I hour we reached a small building and I was told to join the queue for boarder control. After completing the normal forms and having my bags checked I got back in the car to go to San Pedro de Atacama after 5 mins I arrived in the centre and had to decide what to do. I booked into a hostel and was advised of the usual must see things I decided to stay for a few days. San Pedro is a small town with about 9 blocks, it was very hot so I spent most of my first day in a hammock enjoying the sun and relaxing after the salt flats.

During my 3 days at San Pedro I visited the moon valley and the salt lagunas.The moon valley was an area of different rock formations and caves we walked round and watched the sun set. The next day I went to the salt lake with 7 others from the hostels was so much fun as you floated in the water due to the salt levels. The water was cold but once you where in it was ok as the sun was out. When you got out of the water you could feel and see the salt on your body the driver have to pour normal water over us as it damges the seats. After looking at soem other lakes we had some snacks and Pisco while watching the sun set (it good there!) San Pedro had the best steak I have ever tasted I went to Las Delicaias de Carmen twice.

After a few days relaxing and enjoying the sun I decided to go to Valparaiso this meant getting a 24 hour bus journey. i had to get the local bus to Calmara which took 2 hours wait a further 2 hours before getting on the bus to Valpo, as you can imagine I had read alot and heard the songs on my little ipod shuffle once before even starting my journey. In SA their are 3 types of bus seats you can buy semi Cama, Cama and the royal seat semi cama have big seat but the dont recline and you get given snacks rather than hot food, Cama have bigger seats that recline, hot food, drinks and even wine (similar to business class on planes) the royal suit like first class.

I had a semi cama seat right at the frount of the bus underneath the TV which show some spanish films that had alot of killing and blood - not my cup of tea so back to my book. The bus had about 6 stops were some people got on and other off I was lucky to had the seat free next to me to begin with then I had a very large man join me for the 2nd to 4th stop who decided that he didn't want the arm rest down between us so he could gain some extre space on my seat!! not good news espically as this was at 11pm - 3pm so when I was trying to sleep. sleeping on a cama bus is hard I was surrounded by snorers so the ipod came out. I think I was the only tourist on the bus so had no one to talk to which was interesting considering I didn't know if we could get of the bus when it stops as each stop varied in time. After 24 hours we were still on the motorway and signs for Valpo were no where to be seen as you can imagine I just wanted to get off the bus but in the end had an extra 2 hours before finally getting to my final destination Valpo bus stop.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb