In Chile Again...!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Copiapó
September 21st 2010
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

As many of you know (and some may not!) I'm back in Chile now, and hoping to continue my studies here and graduate from a Chilean university. The University I'm currently in the process of applying to is called the Universidad De Atacama (or UDA for short), and I plan on continuing with Social Work. James and I both hope to later do our masters in the US (though since he graduates in a couple months, he'll be working for a couple years while I finish school). I will hopefully know next week if the UDA will accept me, and will be able to go on with my plans from there.

Who knows how or if this will all work out, but at any rate right now I'm in Chile for a couple months trying to work this out and set up everything! I'm staying at Yaya's house right now, where I was living before. It's great being back, but a little hard realizing how far away from everyone in the states I am now!

Anyway, here are some fotos of what I've been up to the first couple days here - pictures from around the house, and from a couple days at the beach when James and I went with a couple friends. We stayed at Dominic's (a fellow exchange student who was here at the same time as me) host family's beach house and had a lot of fun catching up and playing lots of pingpong! There are also some cute pictures of James's cousins' babies... who have gotten HUGE while I was gone!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Front GateFront Gate
Front Gate

(looking out from the doorway)
Tio TatoTio Tato
Tio Tato

in his soccer playing days
Denver and MacDenver and Mac
Denver and Mac

Yaya's guard dogs, Denver is the big hound dog who likes me and Mac is the old shepherd dog who would like to eat me.


22nd September 2010

Hi Tammy! I enjoyed reading your blog. Thank you. Good luck on all your plans. We are looking forward to spending time with your Mom and Dad. Love, Aunt Lisa
27th September 2010

hi!!
thanks so much for the update on everyone! I'm glad it sounds like you're all doing well :) I'll certainly keep you guys posted w/ the blog and I hope you'll keep me posted on all of your adventures too! and yes, Yaya is James's grandmother. I moved in with her for the 2nd semester of my exchange year when I ended up without a place to stay, and we have remained very close (from the US I used to call every sunday) and so I am once again staying in her house until I get everything set up and find an apartment. Although at first I wasn't sure moving in with part of James's family was the best idea, I am SO glad I did! I have had an absolutely amazing experience full of culture, love and family in this house! take care!!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb