Bittersweet


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
December 2nd 2009
Published: December 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,
I'm writing to you from an internet café in Chile's most northern city, Arica. It's a city of nearly 200,000 (or so say the Chileans). The bus ride here was 18 hours through the driest desert in the world. Intense to say the least. I am making my way north through Chile and Peru before heading back to the states after over 8 months in Chile teaching English. As with the last few post I probably won't say much but be sure that a lengthy reflection will be posted when I get back and settled.

On November 25th I said goodbye to the town I called home for nearly a year and to the friends and family I had made there. I will carry those memories forever. But I had to head to Santiago to say goodbye to the other volunteers. We had a great going away dinner and a did great on the BULATS (BUsiness LAnguage Testing Service). However, I was missing something. I can't put my finger on it but I just don't feel at ease with how I'm leaving Chile. I didn't know most of the volunteers but felt connected to them--especially the 8-month crew. Many weren't able to make it though and the 4-monthers were a different bread. Anyway, I left sSantiago wanting more. But my good friend, Matt, came into town on Sunday and we've quickly been making our way north.

We spent one last night in Santiago before heading to Valparaíso for the day. We checked out the sites but were on the bus again at about 11pm headed for Caldera. I was hoping to show him around my "home" a bit more but the only bus that left for Arica, our next destination, left at 7:30pm so we only had about 5 hours in Caldera. Then it was an 18-hour bus ride to Arica where we currently are. We had a few beers on the beach, looked around the town, and hiked up to the top of the largest hill, or cerro, in town to get a view. Arica is located right where the coast of South America turns to the west, at the border between Chile and Peru so the view is pretty amazing. It is sad though because it is my last night in Chile. I would be lying if I said that a tear didn't come to my eye as I was looking at Peru in the distance.

At the same time, I am on one of the most amazing journeys of my life with so much to look forward to and so many memories to cheerish. I wish all the other volunteers luck in all of their life adventures and travels and look forward to seeing family and friends in alittle over a week.

Besos y Abrazos a todos,
Zach


Advertisement



2nd December 2009

Gracias a ti tambien!
Love your this blog. I feel the same. It was like leaving a family saying goodbye to the eight month crew. Thanks for the dance, that farewell dinner was a corker! I'm tailing you at the moment (Valpo and then north) but I think I am too far behind for our paths to cross. I am planning on spending some quality relaxation and reflection time on the beaches of La Serena. Keep in touch Mr Zach! Chao Em
3rd December 2009

Looking forward to seeing you!
Wow, Zach! YOu've been on quite an adventure! Hope you will come by and visit when you get back! And bring pictures! Can't wait to hear more! Safe Travels, Jill
3rd December 2009

See you soon!
Zach . . . what a journey it's been! I know the feeling of "incomplete" leavings. That, too, is part of the journey. It's been a great "ride", you've learned more than you even know, and I've watched an amazing young man emerge in the process! Hope we'll be seeing you soon in Red Wing!! Jan
5th December 2009

great to hear from you
Zach: Wherever I've been when I read your blog posts I've been reminded of how great this time in my/our life is. I don't know if you remember, but in high school I told you that you were going to do great thing and you are!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb