Sad News


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
January 28th 2006
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just after my last entry, I checked my email just before getting on the bus for a 12 hour overnight ride to San Pedro de Atacama. In that email I learned that my Uncle Mark had died that day. This has always been one of my travel fears - that someone I loved would pass away while I was out of the country. I loved my uncle very much - he went out of his way to make sure I had a good time at the lake in Wisconsin every summer. His death comes as a surprise for me, and since I was unable to make it home for the services, it still hasnĀ“t quite sunk in for me. I was able to go to church in San Pedro to sit and reflect for a time, which was nice, until the number of tourists taking photos inside the church became unbearable. I had received some emails from him about my trip the week he died. It made me happy to think he had been actively following along, and that we were able to stay connected through the miles.

A special message to my family - I wish I had been able to make it home to be with you all. I hope you know I am thinking of you. I love you.


Advertisement



7th February 2006

Mark
Jenn We were so sorry to read about Mark, we had no idea. Too young, too soon. We have fond memories of Mark and Sammy and the Jasons. Our thoughts are with you and your family. Karl and April
7th February 2006

Sorry for your loss
Jen, sorry about your uncle. I'm glad you got to talk to him, even by email, before he passed, though. Take care. -Michelle

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb