Trying to get this blog off the ground.


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Temuco
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Actually, I am in Lautaro. A town of population 30,000 about 20 miles north of Temuco. I have been here for over a month so far and I am finally settling in. I teach 13 different classes english once a week. I am a volunteer for the Chilean government program called English Opens Doors. So far its not a bad gig and the work is really easy. My regional coordinator imposed a great rule that volunteers don´t work on fridays. Pretty nice rule, especially since we are only required to work 25 hours a week anyways (so a lot of free time). For the last month it has rained here more than I have ever experienced anywhere else...I assume this is what it feels like to live in a city like seattle where pacific storms just constatly hammer the coast with rain. But today is finally september and we have had at least two clear sunny days in the last week. Before the first sunny day i was aware that at least one volcano was visible from my town. And now I realize that if the sky is clear and the sun is out you can actually see upwards of 5 or 6 peaks in the distance, most of which are active volcanoes covered in snow. pretty wild. i have yet to attempt to travel to these volcanoes but hope the opportunity will come soon. apparently there are some pretty awesome hot springs all around this region as well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb