Teaching English


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
August 17th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I finally started teaching classes. Well, two weeks ago. And let me tell you, the classroom dynamics completely changed. My first week observing I noticed a complete lack of discipline towards me and shyness when it came down to asking questions. Finally, last week I took 12-15 students per group to my own classroom. They opened up to me and trusted me. The way that I presented it to them was that my lessons are for the students who behave the best and participate the most during the regular English class. In other words, their lessons with me are a prize for trying and liking English. The first classes I taught were to my 11th and 12th graders. I decided to dedicate them to practice fluency. So what did I do? Basically just have them talk the whole hour and a half of the class in English. It was easier for some than others but at the end we all had an awesome time. By the time we got back to the entire class they were so happy that the other students so a different side of English and starting behaving differently and cooperating. For my 5th and 6th grades is a little harder because their English level is still pretty basic and their attention span is very short. So with them I taught them songs in English so that they could see that English is fun.

The trick with Chilean kids is that you have to make the lessons about them, what they like and what they need, and they will respect you and thank you for your help.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb