First Day of Classes... I mean, Observation


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
August 4th 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Although one day after anticipated, I finally started working at Colegio Antoine de Saint-Exuperty. This first week is meant for me to observe all of my classes so that I can better asses the level of English of my students and my co-teacher's teaching style. Starting next week, I'll take the most talented students in each class and offer them more advanced and helpful lessons. These will hopefully improve their English which will ultimately open doors for them. The main problem is that school dynamics in Chile are really differently than in the United States and Puerto Rico. Kids have absolutely no discipline and or motivation. It will be a challenge.

Today, I met almost all of the faculty and observed two of my classes, an eleventh grade and a twelve grade. I'll also be teaching fifth and six grade... what a handful. I'll be teaching 25 hours a week with an additional extracurricular activity during an afternoon. Can't wait to have my own classroom again!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb