Chile Chico: The Little Town By the Lake


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Chile Chico
January 16th 2013
Published: January 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Chile Chico is situated on Lago General Carrera, at the border with Argentina. I thought I could pass through this little town on my way to see las capillas de marmol, get some Chilean pesos, secure a tour. Oh how wrong I was...

This is a siesta town and the bus arrived at 1pm. The bank, the tourist center, everything will re-open at 3:00. I found a place to eat that had a delightful vegetarian plate. After 3 I went to the bank but the ATM was still closed for maintenance. I waited for a bit and tried to get out money, but no such luck. It's a state bank, and not hooked up the to plus or visa. The people were very helpful and tried to help me exchange the little Argentine pesos that I had but no one wanted it. I finally found a fisherman willing to help me out. with the ~$20 I had I had to find a place to stay and a ticket to a town with a real bank. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a bus or boat ticket out of here for 2 days. I was on the verge of tears. If not for
The boat out of here.The boat out of here.The boat out of here.

No passengers allowed because today is the day it transports explosives.
the kindness of the people here, I would have walked back to Argentina. I found the cheapest place in town. Not scuzzy, but not nice. There I was in Chile Chico, no money, no way to communicate with the world. The next morning I went to the bank to change US dollars to Chilean pesos (this can only be done between the hours of 9-12). I got a nicer hotel and thought I could do my laundry. This town does not have a lavanderia. There is a lady who will do it for you after she finishes work at 5pm, but that's it. I wandered the town and took pictures of everything. In the afternoon I made friends with some locals and went to the lake for a swim, but the water's too cold. It was really nice to hang out with those guys. We watched Chile play Paraguay in futbol and then had some beers by the lake. It ended up being a really great day. When one of my new friends asked me to stay an extra day, I was tempted but declined. Who knows when my next opportunity to leave will be and I could end up in Chile Chico forever.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Fire StationFire Station
Fire Station

Next to the explosives factory.
Homero SimpsonHomero Simpson
Homero Simpson

My new dog is camera shy.


16th January 2013

great travel story! pretty place n delicious looking plums - trip on Chica!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb