The Mighty Futaleufú


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Carretera Austral
February 28th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FutaleufúFutaleufúFutaleufú

Welcome to this beautiful corner of the central Chilean Patagonia.
At this point in my travels, getting around by public transport became difficult, so I ended up relying almost exclusively on hitching. Actually getting from Los Alerces across the border to the Chilean town of Futaleufú proved to be an adventure that involved a total of seven cars for a trip that wasn´t more than 85 km. I rode across the physical border in the back of a pickup truck, which didn´t seem to raise any suspicions.

Some of you may have heard of Futaleufú because of its world famous whitewater with class IV and V rapids. Although I hadn´t come to go rafting, after seeing that season prices had just dropped because we were out of the tourist season, I decided to have a go. Man, I´m still smiling from the experience! The Fu is damn amazing. At the first class IV rapids I was projectiled out of the boat and sent bobbing downstream with the whites of my eyes glowing they were so big. The outfit I went with was really safe, however, with safety kayakers and catamarans for each boat, so I was never really in any harm, although it got my adrenaline pumping. That evening at
Futaleufú RiverFutaleufú RiverFutaleufú River

It was truly an experiencea to raft this world class river before it is likely dammed for energy production. The Chilean government seems to be particularly good at building roads and dams...
the bottom we had an asado to celebrate the birthday of the rafting company´s owner, Marcela.

David had caught up with me by this point, so we both then headed to Chaitén to prepare for a few days in Parque Pumalín. Before heading in however, I had to indulge in my hot spring obsession which has lanquished since leaving the west and visit the local site.

Side note: For anyone looking for true remote nature, central patagonia is the place to come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

border crossingborder crossing
border crossing

Seven cars later after leaving Los Alerces, I was finally crossing the Chilean border in the back of a pickup.
asado hostsasado hosts
asado hosts

This lovely couple hosted the asado and let us camp on their land next to the Fu.
hot spring regulationshot spring regulations
hot spring regulations

The municiple hot springs of Chaitén were pretty strick with rules.


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb