On the bus off the bus.....


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
May 10th 2015
Published: May 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I finally stirred at around 5am. I only knew it was this time as I turned my phone on and had a text from O2 roaming saying 'welcome to Brazil' Brazil??? I thought we were in Argentina? Where the hell where we. I looked out the window, it was starting to get light but was raining.I was still restless, but no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't get back to sleep. I sent Daryl a text. I wondered what he was doing back home right now. I braved the bus toilet which wasn't as bad as I'd imagined although for the life of me I couldn't find the flush. I returned to my seat and about an hour later Sam started to wake up a bit too. It was about 6 am and we hadn't eaten properly since our pizza by the cemetery in Recoleta some 15 hours ago. Needless to say, I was starving!!! We polished off the rest of the pizza we'd brought back in a doggy bag and a bit of lemon sponge (healthy eh?) we bought a little milka chocolate bar to share too. 'Here, eat this before I finish it off' said Sam, handing me a few crumbly bits of chocolate. I looked at it-'are you taking the p? What do you mean before I finish it off, there's only bloody crumbs left! I'm stuck on a bus in the middle of god knows where or even what bloody country I'm in and after 11 hours I'm looking forward to a little bit of morale and you ate it! You ate my moral!' By now Sam was shrieking with laughing 'I just couldn't stop!' and kept laughing after I told her how I'd once fallen out with my friends dog for nicking a bar of my dairy milk (I loved that dog as well!) still, it was good that we were still laughing 12 hours into the trip!



Fast forward to 12pm and by now we were chomping at the bit to get off and stretch our legs. I was onto my 3rd book of the trip so far (God bless Kindle). As people were getting off Sam moved across the aisle so we had the seats to ourselves but I still couldn't manage to get comfy. Eventually we were the last ones left on the bus, and we arrived to Iguassu-hallelujah!



Strangely when we got off the bus, we had to get on a smaller minibus which drove about 100 meters before getting off and swapping onto another bus-what the hell was going on?? Apparently the bus we were now on wasn't licensed to work in Argentina, hence we had the 100m drive to it (after being sat down for 19 hours I'd rather of walked!) we stopped at the border and managed to get stamped in ok-we didn't actually have to do anything as our driver took the passports whilst we waited on the bus.



Finally we arrived at our hotel and dumped the bags in our room-arrrrggghhhhh we both groaned as we lay spread eagle on our beds to stretch out. We had a quick shower before meeting the others in reception to have a quick walk into town. People went to the bank and Santi suggested food ' we have Macdonalds, or subway.....' No! (My hunger Tourette's was in full flow) I'd rather not have fast food I said. I was so hungry by this point but after not eating all day I wanted something better than a Big Mac. I was at the point where you just can't concentrate on anything else until you've eaten-I was starting to get irate I was that famished. I always remember my friend Laura who almost committed murder over a tuna sandwich-hungar affected her mood so bad!



Eventually we went to a bar and I ordered a beef burrito (which didn't touch the sides) and as it was happy hour, we got a strawberry daquarie as well. We caught up on some emails and rubbed it in on Facebook that we were sitting having cocktails in the sun (it's the law when you're on holiday!)



We went back to the room for a lay down, we were so tired. The alarm went off and I really didn't want to budge-I could of stayed there until the morning. We met Santi in the reception who took us to the supermarket and bought all the ingredients to make the national cocktail- ciprihanias



Back at the hotel, we sat by the pool having a few drinks, Santi ordered pizza (argh more pizza!) and with Jessie the Aussie birds, eclectic iTunes soundtrack we chatted and drank to the sound of Salt N Pepper.....



I was hanging out so by 11 I bid everyone good night and went to bed, hoping that by tomorrow I'd feel a lot less bus zombie and a lot more human.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb