Music and passion are always the fashion...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
October 28th 2003
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stunning views of Rio de JanieroStunning views of Rio de JanieroStunning views of Rio de Janiero

Corcovado mountain summit overlooking the city on a perfect day.
We were having a good old chat, albeit somewhat one sided. While waiting at the bus terminal in Foz do Iguazu a local approached and started speaking in an animated fashion. Man could he talk, and clearly it was an important message he had to share except for one small problem, I didn't understand a word he was saying! Not to worry, he just kept talking away while my facial expression changed from a look of non comprehension to positively idiotic. Finally a woman chimed in to remind him I didn't speak Portugese, and at least I understood those words. That's right bro, no fala portugese! Yet I was in great spirits as I prepared to board the bus to Rio de Janeiro. In fact I nearly burst into song "Woh ooh woh oh when my driver, when my driver starts the bus I go to Rio" or something like that anyway!

But let's briefly recap, dear reader. From Puerto Iguazu on the Argentinian side of the Falls it was a fairly straightforward process to organise a visa for Brazil. My paperwork was sorted in one afternoon, and the next morning I crossed the border into Foz do Iguazu. The
Cable car to Sugar Loaf Mountain, RioCable car to Sugar Loaf Mountain, RioCable car to Sugar Loaf Mountain, Rio

Crossing a cable car going down the mountain.
difference in the border towns is very stark, and I quickly realized I'd entered a bustling country of 170 million people. Foz certainly looked modern and clean, but I was amazed to see high rise buildings and substantial amounts of traffic in the centre of town. I checked into a good quality hostel, then spent a day exploring the mighty Iguazu Falls from the Brazilian side. The trails lead to panoramic views of the Falls and the scenery is spectacular, but most of the walkways that run to the edge of the Falls are on the Argentinian side. However, I definitely recommend checking out this incredible force of nature from both sides of the border.

From Foz I boarded a modern bus for the long journey along the coast of Southern Brazil to Rio. From there a short taxi ride saw me check into a great hostel, situated only five minutes walk from the world famous Copacabana beach. I was fortunate to meet an English and a Canadian lad in the dorm, we all happened to be solo travellers and agreed to meet up for a drink in the hostel bar that evening. Our first night at the bar
Christo the redeemer, Rio Christo the redeemer, Rio Christo the redeemer, Rio

Do you think this is an original tourist pose?!
was great fun, there were several travellers sharing yarns and a laugh along with the friendly staff and some locals who popped in. One of the travellers was a solo Swedish lad and so our team was complete, setting the the scene for a week of sun and fun in the most famous of Brazilian cities.

The fact our group comprised four strapping lads made us feel more secure in Rio, and together we made the most of our time in this beautiful city. Rio is a big city where you definitely need to be aware of your personal safety. We went everywhere together, and the city proved to be a fabulous travel destination. Strolling around near the hostel certainly had a unique feel, there's no doubting you're in the middle of an extremely big and bustling metropolis, complete with traffic jams and crowds of people. I'd be there waiting for the lights to change as the cars whizzed by, then cross the road and suddenly arrive at the beautiful boulevard that runs along Copacabana beach.

One day I was strolling at the Copa, when a character I hadn't noticed plonked a huge glob of grease smack bang on my foot. I immediately got to thinking, where had this operative come from? Anyways, I quickly detoured away from the clutching hands of the shonky character's accomplices, and made my way to the ocean to wipe the grease off as best I could. This meant, however, I was merely smearing the grease all over the show! But I was determined the operators weren't gonna relieve me of my bag so easily, nevertheless I was grateful they didn't used a dog turd which is the preferred method of distraction before snatching up your bag. I got to my mates, relaxed again quickly and began to contemplate life amongst the Cariocas in Rio. It comprises lying on the beach in perfect weather amidst beautiful girls in the skimpiest bikinis, watching locals playing a hybrid game of beach soccer and volleyball with amazing skill, taking a stroll to the equally famous Ipanema beach, enjoying the beautiful sights, and finally going out to the thumping clubs at night! Oh yes indeedy, Rio is truly a world class travel destination.

Does Rio eclipse Sydney as the most beautiful harbour in the world? For me it's a close run thing, but when you reach
The boys celebrate with a beerThe boys celebrate with a beerThe boys celebrate with a beer

We got to the summit of Sugar Loaf in time for sunset, but barely had enough money to buy a few beers. It's all good though!
the summit of Corcovado mountain with the majestic Christo the Redeemer overlooking the city, or catch a ride on the cable car to the summit of Sugar Loaf Mountain for sunset and the views of the city lit up at night; from there Rio just can't be beat! I had a great time in Rio spent in the company of travel friends, and it was difficult to leave. Soon after, however, I was on the bus south to the famous surf town of Florianopolis, and my visit coincided with a round of the professional world surfing tour. Florianopolis is famed for the beauty of the local girls, and many are blonde due to the large numbers of Germans who settled in the area. I checked into a hostel on the beach, and chanced upon some girls from the hostel in Rio, but on the first night the power cut out all over town. We were faced with no electricity, and no flushing toilets; the story doing the rounds was that a truck crashed on the main bridge and somehow managed to knock out the town's power supply. This was the start of an unusual two days and nights, which was further complicated by persistent rain. So whether or not the fair headed beauties of Florianopolis are the most beautiful in Brazil I can't really say ... as I didn't see any!

Brazil is an incredible country to visit, featuring huge discrepancies in wealth amidst a noisy and vibrant environment. It's a country full of music and dancing and boisterous conversations. Brazil is alive with passion and energy and, basically all of you should be here now!


A single rose can be my garden... a single friend, my world." Leo Buscaglia


As I continue my travels, until next time it's signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



28th January 2007

I was in Rio in November, and loved it. Great shot of the passing cable car!

Tot: 0.465s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 46; qc: 163; dbt: 0.2516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb