Welcome to Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro
November 21st 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The journey to Rio is even longer than I had expected as my bus is delayed and I arrive in Rio at 1 am with no hostel booked and no map. I am welcomed by a dozen taxi drivers offering me a ride, they are like vultures - not exactly what you need after more than 30 hours on the bus.

I pick the cheapest one and I am taken to the steet where a hostel reccomended to me by a fellow traveller is. Only I do not have the house number and the hostel is nowhere to be seen. I contemplate sleeping on the beach, then I discard the idea an open my Lonely Planet in search for other alternatives but they all look really expensive. Eventually I ask the taxi driver to run thorugh the street again and after a bit of asking around I found the hostel. I feel so relieved.

The hostel is basic and I will be sleeping in a 24 people dormitory (yes, 24) but the staff seem really friendly and there's a good atmosphere. You would think I'd go to sleep immediately but no, I stay awake chatting with them until 4.30 in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb