Made it to Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro
January 26th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Rio De Janeiro 1/26/08


View for Rio HotelView for Rio HotelView for Rio Hotel

This was the view from the balcony of my room at the Intercontinental in Rio. It was fun to watch a group playing beach soccer that night while relaxing and recovering from the long flight
Saturday Jan 26 - Rio

Well I made it to Rio. The flight was long as expected and we arrived about 30 mins late this morning at 8:30. It took about 2 hrs to get thru customs and immigration and then wait for everyone on the HAL shuttle. The flight was totally full and 2 people were bumped. They were offering $400 voucher, hotel, dinner, and confirmed flight today but there is no way I was interested in that. I was in the very last row of the plane (40a) right across from the restrooms. I don't recommend this area if you want to sleep (well I probably wouldn't have anyway but this didn't help). You could hear everything and then everytime they opened the door the light shown right in my face. I sat next to a young woman from Colorado Springs who was on her way to Recife (not sure of the spelling) to work in an orphange there for 5 months. She has previously done this in India. Hopefully she made her flight but it was going to be close since she had to clear customs and immigration and then go check her bags back in for
a 10:10 flight. I have no idea where they got the movies for this one at least from what glimpses I saw (didn't bother trying to listen). The first was something about killing people while playing ping pong, the second was a black and white with wierd characters in a very old looking blimp-like vehicle, and the 3rd I have no idea.

I met and had a nice talk with RuthC from the cc board while in line for immigration and on the bus to the hotel. On the bus they told us our rooms may not be available until 3 but after a short wait and filling out some paperwork we got our keys so were in the room before 12. They also checked us in for the ship including taking our photo so all I have to do tomorrow is turn in my passport (which has already been checked) and get my key. I signed up for the 10:30 shuttle so am looking forward to getting on the ship. Took a quick shower (it's very sticky here as expected) and a nap so am feeling almost human again. I went down to see about dinner about 5 but the restaurant doesn't open until 7 so grabbed a hamburger in the snack shop. It was actually pretty good.

I tried to attach a photo of the view from my balcony but can't get it to work. Not sure if it's the slow connection or what but will try again later or tomorrow from the ship. The internet is free from the hotel but i don't have a power converter so can't charge my battery.

Talk to you all soon.

Sharon

P.S. I think I've got the photo attached now!

Advertisement



26th January 2008

Rio
Hi Sharon, Glad you got there safe and sound well maybe I should have said tired. Hope you get some rest and can enjoy the trip. Sounds like the movies were not the best. Waiting to hear more later. have fun. We are thinking of you. Janet (Randy Fan)

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb