Street Party in Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Lapa
March 5th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rio1Rio1Rio1

Street outside hotel
Well here I am in Rio!

After the peace and tranquility of Costa Rica, Rio De Janeiro is the exact opposite - it's busy and crazy and the costumes are fabulous and bizarre!

My hotel is surprisingly nice, a little old doorman can to unload my belongings from the taxi and take it to my room slightly amusing that my luggage is a very large rucksack with sleeping bag and sleeping mat tied to the top!! No glamour for me I am afraid!

Rio carnival started officially on the 4th March and continues right through to the 12th. One of the main events is at the Sambadrome where there are the great parades with bands, costumes and dancing showcasing the best of Rio! As a tour group we have tickets for this and this is on my birthday- not a bad way to celebrate your birthday! The event starts at 9pm and goes on until sunrise, the literature advises that you can take small mattresses and pillows as you may want to nap as its so long!!

There are free street parties throughout the city where everyone joins in, dresses up and dances the night away. Went
Rio2Rio2Rio2

Street party
along to one last night and even though it was pouring had a great time and the rain certainly does not stop the locals partying!

Just wandered around the city so far and hoping to go on the tours over the next couple of days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Rio4Rio4
Rio4

My excuse it was raining!


Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb