South America, Day 28-30: Rio De Janeiro


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Ipanema
August 26th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven't blogged lately, any spare chance I get I sleep or go out to the beach! So on Sunday morning we did a tour in one of the favelas which is what they call the slums in Rio. We had to be very careful as we are a bit of a target waking around the slums being a tourist. It was one of my highlights in Rio, just seeing that side of it was cool. After the tour we went to a soccer match (the same place the world cup was held). The team we decided to go for won so we were pretty pleased! After the soccer match we went out for dinner and then spent most of the night dancing. The next day we were supposed to go hang gliding but the winds weren't strong enough so it got cancelled. I wasn't too disappointed as we had already seen some great views from Christ the redeemer and the Sugarloaf Mountain, but gives me a reason to go back! So we went to the beach and went for a swim for most of the morning. Later we took a boat ride to one of the beaches in Rio where we went swimming off the boat and had a bbq for lunch. It was the perfect day! Today we just walked along the beach again and said our goodbyes to everyone on the trip. Today has been quite sad as we've had to say goodbye to everyone but also realizing that tomorrow I'll be going back home. This is by far the best trip I have ever done. The variety of places I've visited and the people I've travelled with have really made this trip incredible! I'll definitely be itching to travel again as soon as I get back! This will also be my last post unless something interesting happens on the trip home so thanks for everyone who has been reading this! I will put up photos on here first before I put them up on facebook as I want you to see them before everyone else does! I'll try not to cry on the way home haha but it's honestly been the best trip I've ever done and so glad I did it. I wasn't really that excited about all of South America before I came over but coming here definitely changed my perspective about this place and would highly recommend it! I'll put up some photos as soon as I get home! Goodbye and see you when I get back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



27th August 2014

Yeh Missy. See ya soon. Love you.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb