The Journey Begins......


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Ipanema
October 18th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Before I begin I think I should just explain that the journey really began on the Friday 13th October 2006 when I finished work (work - if that´s what I can say I was doing). As per usual I left everything to the last minute but up to this date all the important stuff was done (or so I thought). From this Friday I was a nightmare (sorry mom) trying to pack and update my ipod......I finally leave for the airport with my ipod still not updated, infact on the journey it crashed and was blank. Thanks to Nashie (for sorting it) and Lisa for also putting up with me and getting me to the airport on time

HEATHROW

On arriving and checking in I am told that I can not leave for Rio as my current flight out of S.A is over the 90 day visa I´m allowed and am sent to change my flight. Thankfully it wasn´t too stressful and I´m off.

ARRIVING IN RIO

My first thoughts of Rio was that it’s a shxx hole, the journey from the plane isn’t the nicest but as soon as I arrived in Ipanema where I was staying my thoughts soon changed. I mean the closest shop to where I was staying was a Louis Vuitton shop.

So my first night in Rio was a bit surreal you could say. I only went to see Mr
Robbie Williams him self. I went with 5 English girls who were really nice
We paid 10 Real for our ticket from a tout which is approx 2 pound 50. Yes
I have typed that correctly and would you believe we pushed to being just 5
Rows from the front. It was quite empty really compared to concerts back
Home and was really funny as the Brazilians didn’t quite get some of his
Jokes! infact the only time that they got really excited was when Robbie was
talking about Brazilian football stars or when he sang let me entertain
You......they knew all the words to a lot of the songs though. It was Robbie in Rio on my first night so who gives a damn about the rain........Great start lets hope things continue!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb