Solo Travelling - Last Week


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Copacabana
February 8th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I´m writing this on my last evening in Brasil. This time tomorrow I will be at the airport, about to catch my flight home. I´m so soooooo excited to be going back and seeing everyone I love, even though leaving this amazing country is going to be very difficult.

I have had a busy few days since I last posted. I left Manaus and flew to Brasilia, the capital. I wasn´t expecting to like it very much - it only became the capital in the 1960s, so its all new and overly planned out. But surprisingly I really liked it. Its a bit like aliens have landed and created a capital city, but its great, some really interesting arquitecture and some lovely people.

Only stayed one day, then got the 17 hour bus to Rio de Janeiro - a highlight of any Brasil trip. Arrived 6 am on Saturday morning and went to my hostel. Its a good thing the staff are so lovely because the palce is a shambles - the least efficiently run hostel I´ve ever stayed in...

On Saturday I went to have a look at the Maracanã football stadium (to be the host of the 2014 World Cup) but it was all shut due to the visit from said World cup...whatever! I then went to a big market and picked up some pressies... Then I went to the beach at Copacabana - its sooooooo hot here, I´m practically melting. That evening i went up the Pão de Açúcar (Sugar Loaf Mountain) to appreciate the amazing views over the city at sunset...

Sunday was a quieter day, I went to the bohemian district of Lapa to see the Escadaria Selarón and the Arches of Lapa. I then went to Flamengo Park and walked around, then to the beach again. Came back exhausted and had a quiet night in the hostel chatting to some welsh blokes.

Today has been amazing. Got up, and went to Ipanema to check out the classy side of Rio. then i went hang-gliding from 520m up, over the ocean and landed on the beach. It was awesome, thew most exhilarating (and terrifying) experience of my life...

Tomorrow itsup to the Christ the Redeemer statue, then the airport and HOME!!!! Sooooo excited...

There ends the first chapter in my South American adventure...get ready for part two, coming soon!

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb