Things I've learnt in Brasil - 9 Mar 2011


Advertisement
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm now back in Paraguay, where you will be glad to know I am an official resident (I'm also glad that they kept their word and gave me back my money I invested!) - but here are the things I learnt while in Brasil.

Argentinians like to exagerrate...like "we drank about 34000 beers", "the guy honks his horn 4 million times a day" or "I'm stuck behind the biggest idiot in all of Brazil"

Club Med is not for me...great food and the room was decent, but why would you have a communal iron in the hallway? I prefer crumpled shirts than have people watch me iron?!

Rio de Janeiro traffic is terrible...I really thought I was going to miss the 2014 World Cup Final and the 2016 Olympics it was that bad.

South America is under a massive rain cloud...because it rained the whole time I was in Brazil after raining constantly in Paraguay. Maybe I'm the jinx?

Graffiti is pretty easy to do...which makes me wonder how on earth did I make such a mess of my room when I spray-painted it aged 14?

I am my own alarm clock...it doesn't matter how early I have to wake up to go to the airport I always wake up about 5 minutes before my alarm.

I'm a lazy portuguese speaker...I just speak Spanish slowly and hope the Brazilian I'm talking to will understand, or throw in the odd "longe" instead of largo or "muito" instead of mucho. What a waste of a one-year university course!


Question of the week
"Can I wait for the bus in Paraguay instead?" Me to bus company. The answer was yes, I kinda love border towns and how you can just flit from one country to the other.

@paraguayralph

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb