porto alegre


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio Grande do Sul » Porto Alegre
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Been a while since I've had a chance to add to this - lots of shuttling around the place - from floripa I headed to porto alegre to meet Gigi gabi and gustavo (Gigi and Gabis sister is called Graziela) I didn't meet any other porto alegrians so can"t confirm whether they are only allowed names begining with G! The lads surprised me with a trip to Gustavos parents timeshare in Gramado - This town is unbelievable - its been christmas land there for about three weeks already . At 9 they have a big fanfare for turning on the lights and they go go for it bigger than Disney would. So it was nice see a bit of that in case I'm down in the antartctic when it comes around for real. The next day it was off to cannelo to see the parks and cataracts - more falls! This one was cool because you could walk in the river above the falls which were a decent height - (there were a gazillion steps down to the base of the falls so it was a bit of a marathon to get back up. A trip to the Budhists temple on the way back home completed a class weekend. (though the motor driven prayer wheels were just not quite right and the drwaings on the temple walls reminded me a lot of Dantes inferno - a whole lot of gutting and burning. Not exactly what I expected from Buddhists but what would I know. A final day lying by the pool before heading off on the bus to Uruguay - with the aid of two dramin and a lack of brain I managed to sleep through Punto del este and get stuck in Montevideo before being able to catch the slow bus back - my butt was numb after 18 or so hours. But I'm here in sunny Punta del diablo and all is extremely chilled.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



24th November 2008

this place looks cool
Makes the scabby lights in Cork seemso naff. Christmas madness has begun here - everyone frantically piling tons of crap for spoilt brats into the backs of cars - me...I'm off out with the dogs of course...bah humbug! Ellie PS I'll be more festive in December (I hope) PPS brother Mark got married today - tiny wedding - big surprise to whole family xx

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb