Boy


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My cat of thirteen years has had an accident. His name is ´Boy´.
It seems he fell out of a tree yesterday morning and banged his head on something. Katie and Richard, luckily found him at about 4:00am. His temperature was ten degrees below normal. They took him to a cat hospital where they have run tests: nothing broken, no internal bleeding, but he can only use his front legs, as of last night. I´m waiting now to hear updates on his condition via email.
Almitra is in Boston and is going to stay extra days to see what to do. It´s obviously outrageously expensive to keep him in the cat hospital. Almitra is contacting her friend, who has been Boy´s vet for years, to get his opinion on what to do.
I feel terrible being away when the cat needs me.
I know some people would say, ´Hey, it´s only a cat´, but for me it´s not just a cat, he´s mine and Almitra´s cat, who we held in one hand thirteen, or so years ago, and he´s been with us ever since. Every night during the winter he curls up in my lap, or stretches out the entire length of my legs, and purrs all night. He has to be scraped off complaining when you want to get up!
I´ve always let him go outside: I couldn´t keep a cat prisoner in my home. He´s always come back when I whistled, but he´s always had the freedom to choose, and this is a vital part of our relationship, for me. Each day when I let him out I always think that this might be the last time I ever see him.
On this occasion, the last time I saw him was settling into his secret spot in Richard´s workshop two days before I left, after a terrible time getting him into his carrying case. He had settled in reasonably well to his summer vacation spot, until the other night, that is.
Richard thinks he might have been chased up a tree by one of the so called, ´fisher cats´. I doubt it myself, because he is still alive. A fisher cat would have finished the job off, in all probability, since they hunt cats for food.
He had been staying out all night in Concord, something he´s not used to - he usually goes out for a couple of hours in the early evening in Somerville. He is getting on in years. He may not be as agile as he thinks he is. I know how he feels.
Anyway, other than popping out to the airport for more money, maybe going for a quick dip, I´m going to secrete myself near the computer today waiting for updates. I know you´ll think, ´What´s the point?´, but it makes me feel better.
I feel dreadfully guilty about going away right now.
It´s weird though. For the last two evenings a little black cat I´ve christened ´Nameless´ has sat with me all night at the house here, curling up on my lap. He´s a little rescue project for Adrianna, a street cat with a fungal infection in his ears, abandoned and hungry. Adrianna has adopted and treated him. He has the most lovely personality. For some reason, he´s become my fast friend. As for me, I´m glad and sad at the same time that he is my friend.
Probably this entry will strike some of you as maudlin and self-obsessed. If that´s how you feel, that´s ok, there are plenty more blogs out there for you to enjoy.
For those of you who understand how something like this might make someone feel, I thank you for bearing with me!
See you on the flypaper,
mike

Advertisement



7th July 2008

We're so sorry....
Michael...this comment comes after our prior mail and my speaking with Almitra yesterday. I've had overnight to think and it was with surprise that I read your own observation about making friends with a cat where you are now....that is what kept coming into my mind over the course of last evening. I'm so sad to hear what happened and wish I could offer some insightful words....somehow none I can think of seem articulate enough. We've always been happy to take care of the Boy in your absence and over the years have become his friend. I remember the first time he came right to my car door to greet us when we pulled up in front of your house - now *that* was when I knew the friendship had firmly taken hold! Today, Gia and I will send out good thoughts to the Boy - we hope things will take a positive turn and that he soon be on his way to recovery. We're glad we got to see him when we took him with you out to his summer 'vacation' spot. Michael....take care - I know how hard this is, being away when the Boy is ill. Stay positive and we will too... xo, Suze and Gia
7th July 2008

Oh Mike, I'm so sorry. Make sure to keep us updated. ~Kristin
7th July 2008

Boy
Mike. I am so sorry to hear about Boy's accident. I know exactly how you feel- and he is not "just a cat" as we well know. In fact Andrew and I loved him so much we "borrowed" his name when we got Beasley Boy. It's hard being away when he's sick- but it sounds like he's in good hands and well cared for. I will hope for the best for him, but know how you're feeling (I was away from Chicken when he died, 3 days before Opening Ceremonies). I'm glad Nameless is there to keep you company, he sounds like a great companion. All my best, Brenda
7th July 2008

Brenda
Thanks Brenda. I really appreciate your message. I´m anxiously waiting for news right now. Fingers crossed! mike
7th July 2008

Jill Peter and Kathryn
Thanks for the message. It makes me feel a bit better. Happy birthday to Kat! How does it feel to be old like us, eh?
7th July 2008

Kristin
Thanks for the message. I really appreciate it. You must be getting pretty excited, eh? Can´t wait for your blog to get going properly! BTW 1, I thought your packing list seemed pretty cool. BTW 2, Do you know which school you´re all at yet for next year? mike
7th July 2008

in our thoughts
Hey Mike just a quick note to say you're in our thoughts. Fellow animal lovers here. We have 2 cats and one has a seizure disorder which we have invested alot of time and vet visits to keep alive so we know "it isn't just a cat" and we feel for you being so far away. Keep the faith. The King-Giannino Clan
7th July 2008

Boy...
Dear Mike, What can I say? We're so sad to hear your news about Boy. We hope and pray his condition improves.... poor brave tree warrior. Let us know if there's anything in the world we can do to help - in any way. In the meantime, love up that Nameless one... Clare and Family
8th July 2008

Hey Mike, it's Gia. I'm really sorry about Boy-o's condition, and I was pretty shocked when I heard. My first response was, "Don't cats land on their paws?!" That's when I realized that my appreciation for the Boy actually goes a bit deeper than it may appear. Even as he's been at his vacation home, your apartment and the nearby streets seem more vacant without his cosy presence. I have always the best hope in his recovery, and know that I am keeping the dearie beastie in mind!! -g-
8th July 2008

I'm so sorry
Mike, I am so sorry I do hope Boy is ok. Keep faith I did and Ralphie came home alright. My thoughts and prayers are with him. Kathryn
8th July 2008

About your message.
Mike, Technically speaking I dont know how it feels yet. It's Only the SEVENTH!!!!!! Kat
8th July 2008

Hey again!
Any news yet? Glad you approved of my packing list. Is there anything I can get rid of? Today was a typical hot and humid New England day and all I kept thinking about is having a back pack stuck like glue to me and wanting to just ditch the entire thing. NE hot will be nothing compared to SEA hot. No word on school or grade yet, but I'm feeling more optimistic than ever. I'll keep you posted! BTW, can't believe all of your snorkeling. I'd rather jump out of a plane any day than be in the ocean swimming with all those sea monsters. No way!!
8th July 2008

Boy
HI, so sorry to hear about your cat. It is only understandable and normal for you to feel the way that you do. He is part of your life and your family. I will wish for the best for him and you as well. Your newfound friend, the cat was sent for a purpose. I'm sure it makes you feel both good and then bad when you think of Boy and missing him. Keep us posted about Boy...you and him are in my thoughts. Now as for your trip, your new found friends sound very nice, and I know they are now on there way but I know you will find others. You know that happens when traveling always. Have been following on the blog but problem with my computer here in Maine for a couple of days so was unable to read and send comments as you wrote. I caught up tonight. Love all the photos, some very amazing beaches and scenes. Continue to experience it all and enjoy and stay safe. Look forward to continuing to follow along with you. Lucille
8th July 2008

Grim
Grim dude....so grim. Well we'll all hope for the best. Sounds like the islands are treating you right. I must say, haven't found that here...yet. Volcano climbing in 2 days, do it yourself rice paddy treks for now. The islands are calling my name, i hear them in the night. Good bye wonderland reprise?
8th July 2008

hang in there
Hi Mike, so sorry to hear about the cat and I do know how you feel. As bad as it sounds, it seems like it could have been a lot worse and I'm sure he is a trooper. They really do have 9 lives! Hope to hear some good news about him soon. Glad to hear for the most part your experiences have been good ones. Janet
8th July 2008

I couldn't agree more with Lucille's comment. Your new little friend, Nameless, was sent to you for a reason. I hope he has given you comfort these last couple of days and even provided some amusing kitty antics for a smile. We all await an update on Boy's condition.....he's such a tough cookie, I'm pulling for him all the way. Until then....be positive, be well... xo, Suze
8th July 2008

Sorry to hear of The Boy's misadventures. Here's hoping he still has some spunk left in him! Capt.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb