Oh Dear the stress of it all!!!!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
April 10th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a very busy few weeks for me. I went north from Buenos Aires to the wonderful place of the Iguazu Falls. Oh my goodness it is sooo beautiful here!!!


The first day here I had to be smuggled into Brazil as I think my passport is sitting on a shelf near the sonographers somewhere. From here you can see the length of the falls which are mainly in Argentina. Managed to meet some of the local wildlife in the form of coatis, which are actually quite feral little things and didn't want to be seen talking to such a refined creature as me. So I left them foraging in the garbage and moved on.


The second few days here were spent in the Argentinian side of the falls. Wow, so cool. It was a lovely sunny day and you can walk over, under, around all the waterfalls on this side as well as stand close to the top of the big one, the Garganta del Diablo, or Devil's Throat. The island in the middle was very tropical and looked like something from a movie set. From here we got on a speeboat and rode underneath some of the falls getting absolutely soaked in the process. Fun for us, not so much fun for the older couple in the boat all done up in their good stuff for a day out!! At least they were lent some jackets.


SInce then I have been busy catching all the sights in Buenos Aires that I missed last week. Went for a tour through the Teatro Colon. I went to the Buenos Aires Cow Parade where 115 cows are decorated by local artists then lined up along the port- I have absolutely no idea why!! Maybe it seemed like a good idea at the time.


I spent a day at the zoo and looking around the surrounding gardens in search of some friends from home. Found the 'Cangurus' but sadly no Koalas here. I also found some distant cousins- brown and polar variety- but they didn't seem in very good moods. Probably coz they´re not allowed to be fed.

Met some friends of Julie's in Buenos Aires. Shirley and Ken also from Adelaide who are travelling through South America too. They were heading towards Iguazu and I liked it so much there that I tried to stow away to go with them. Alas, my plan was thwarted and I was plucked from a backpack at the last second.

As you are reading this I will have already arrived in Santiago de Chile all the way over on the west side of the Andes mountains to continue my journey.

Wish you all a Happy Easter.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Teatro ColonTeatro Colon
Teatro Colon

Used to be the biggest theatre until the Sydney Opera House. It has room for musicians to stand in the roof around the edge of the chandelier.
Plaza San MartinPlaza San Martin
Plaza San Martin

Some much needed and used green space in the middle of the city.
Hangin´ with friendsHangin´ with friends
Hangin´ with friends

With some fellow friends of Julie's from Adelaide who are travelling too.


Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb