In Search of Iguazu


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The title of our GAP tour is "In Search of Iguazu" referring to the huge collection of waterfalls on the Brazil/Argentina border. To me they were famous for appearing in the James Bond movie Moonraker, the scene where the boat pretty much turns into a handglider leaving Jaws and the other villans to go over the top. So after our long journey from Sao Paulo, we quickly checked in, breakfasted and got on over to the Brazillian side of the falls.

The idea of the trip is that you vist the Brazil side to get the ´"overview" of it all from afar, and this is what we got, Im am no that literate that I can use words to describe these falls, and there are hundreds of them,so I´ll let my pictures tell the story. It was an impressive overview on the first day, but much better was to come.

On the second day we made a quick hop over the border to Argentina, as part of a group it was easy, we did not even have to leave the bus, it would be a lot more work as a single traveller, but my goodness, still well worth it!
MeMeMe

I´m about to get soaked!
Once in Argentina we took a big speedboat from a quiet spot on the river downstream form the falls, but at some point we put our cameras in wetbags and took the full force of the water. I was expecting some "Maid of the Mist" style spray, ha ha look at me my shirt is a little bit damp, not a bloody bit of it, as I was right at the side I got absolutely full on soaked, and it was fricking freezing!! The force of the water was something else, still as I´d forgot to have a shower that morning there was a functional element to the expereince.

We soon dryed off and enjoyed a long succession of duckboard walks under and over various falls, theres no getting away from the crowds here, but for goodness sake, with something as impressive as Iguazu, you´re going to have to share it with the rest of the world so no complaints. The highlight of the day, and perhaps yet of the entire tour (excluding nightlife) was the stunning climax that was visiting the "Devils Throat" We spent ages there soaking it all in, well yes soaking as the spray on occasion gets pushed by the wind onto the viewing platform. As I said words don´t descibe it, not even pictures or videos, only being there, wow! Every tour needs a moment, and that was it!

I´d had an inclining I´d like the place when I was given an old Brazil Lonely Planet and read about the place, all in all it´s made coming here all very worthwhile! A true wonder of the natural world.




Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Me and GroupMe and Group
Me and Group

At the Devils Throat


28th November 2010

I can relate
Hi Robin! Your experience reminds me of my own before the immense waterfalls. Foz is indeed amazing. Once I was a visitor, now I am a permanent resident of Brazil. I can´t stop blogging on this beloved country at http://braziltravel-ram.blogspot.com/ Enjoy your next visit here! Ram

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb