GO CARTS!!


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday, João invited me to go with some of his friends to this go cart track on the north side of the city. There were 12 of us in all. Now these aren´t your typical kiddie go carts, no, these are high powered, blood boiling, stomach turning, adrenalin pumping machines. Top speeds are reaching 70-80 km/h and your butt is only inches off the pavement.

It costs only 50 reals, which is about 25 bucks. They suit you up with racing gear... suits, gloves, helmet, neck brace thingy. First there is a qualifying race lasting 5 minutes. The cart with the fastest lap time gets the poll position etc. There are two races each 15 minutes long and the last place cart from the first race starts first in the second race.

I managed to qualify myself somewhere in the middle of the pack, but the first race didn´t fare to well for me. I ended up 10th out of 12, not the best showing, but I was feeling out the track. The second race I managed to pull myself into 6 position.

Of course after the race I learned a little driving strategy. You are supposed to keep your foot on the gas the whole time while only tapping the break in the corners to slow down a little without letting the engine rev down. Dammit, that´s why everyone was passing me!!!

After the race we caught the Cup Final on TV. Italy pulled off their 4th world cup championship in a dramatic penalty finish.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



10th July 2006

Go Dani boy!
Hahaha...next stop. F1 champ!!!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb