Beautiful Belo Horizonte


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Belo Horizonte
September 14th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The ClinicThe ClinicThe Clinic

Jackie loves this sign. It always means she is about to transform herself. Taranto is world class surgeon. One day Maria and I are going to open a business to set this up for you too.
Monday-Tuesday
We started today early. Jackie was to be at Doctor’s office at 7:00am for her “tune up.” We got up at 5:45am and discovered that it was already daylight. This gave us time to get dressed and for me to get some breakfast before catching taxi for the ride. It costs about $10 reais or about $6.00 for the ride across town to the office.
The surgery went well and Jackie is pleased with the results so far. We will take it easy for a couple of more days. Jackie is sleeping well without the need for pain killers.
We went back on Tuesday for check up and removal of a few stitches.
Since Jackie will not allow me to take her photo, I took a couple of shots of the staff working on taking out stitches. There is a new woman doctor that easily qualifies for Rich’s special file of beautiful scenes of Brazil. Plus, she speaks perfect English.
Tuesday evening I went with Gilberto after work to Pizzarilla Restaurant. It is near CEMIG where I worked. There are many employees that drop by there on their way home from work. We saw many of my old work friends
The ClinicThe ClinicThe Clinic

There is not much room to park at the clinic. Looks like someone busted the flower pot in front when she tried to back into that tight space.
and had a few more beers and pizza. I’m getting fat!
I have added some photos that continue with the cultural differences in Brazil. Plus, at Dave's request I've added some more shots of the scenary here in Belo.

That’s it for these two days.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Stitches outStitches out
Stitches out

This is the new Doctor in Teofilo's office. She qualifies for the Rich DeLuca list. I think I'll come one day to let her work on me.
Condo in BeloCondo in Belo
Condo in Belo

Nearing the condo.
Condo in BeloCondo in Belo
Condo in Belo

We lived in the fifth floor condo seen here. There were only two condos per floor. There are three balconies. Two are here...the large one plus small one for bedroom.
Condo in BeloCondo in Belo
Condo in Belo

Front of Condo
Jackie in front of condoJackie in front of condo
Jackie in front of condo

Here's Jackie's first photo post op. She will not let me zoom in. We were in the part adjacent to condo.
Walk to Work 1997Walk to Work 1997
Walk to Work 1997

This is where I busted my butt one day on the way to work. I always crossed this street and entered the side walk about where the white line crosses. When I did my shoe slipped on the curb and I fell ripping my suit pants. Jackie was pissed!
Walk to Work 1997Walk to Work 1997
Walk to Work 1997

Don't step here!! I fell flat on my face but make the fastest jump up ever saying, "I'm okay" in English. People ran to my rescue. Could I have been more embarassed???
Culture shotsCulture shots
Culture shots

I am not sure we still have pay phones back home. They have them here and the booths are like ears.
Culture shotsCulture shots
Culture shots

Want you car washed? This was a daily exercise. These men would both watch and wash your car while you were shopping. Only way to keep it safe..and clean.
Culture shotsCulture shots
Culture shots

So how do they get water to wash? They bring it in buckets...
More scenes from BeloMore scenes from Belo
More scenes from Belo

Eyes up, Rich.
More scenes from BeloMore scenes from Belo
More scenes from Belo

Just another day in the Mall.
More scenes from BeloMore scenes from Belo
More scenes from Belo

This Bud's for you, Rich.
PingaPinga
Pinga

The only way to make the proper caiprinha is to use pinga. It is like white lightning. Made from sugar cane. I'll bring some home.


16th September 2009

wunderbar...oops, wrong language
Nice pix. What in the world is Jackie getting "fixed"...If I had something like that done, I would have to have a full body makeover. Guess I'll stick to what I have now. Is Leonardo DaVinci getting residuals for the sign on the Plastic Surgeons office???? xox P.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb