Bikini bodies and Bahain Culture


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
December 9th 2010
Published: December 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

08/12
Following on from the big night out we had a really relaxed day at the beach, we just chilled out and got our tan on. Because not much happened today so I'll philosophise a little bit about the body beautiful.

It'll come as no surprise that the body beautiful is a definite fixation - skinny is in. I know that we all have our hang ups etc but for the first time I think it's (at least in part) a cultural thing. In Salvador I was surprised by how many different shapes and sizes there are. Brazil is famous for the body beautiful and I can see why. Not because everyone here looks like Gisele, but instead because people rock out whatever they look like. There is definitely a Brazilian shape - boobs and beauty, but big or small the bikini is where it's at; Even the mannequins have big backsides. I have seen a YSL advert with Kate Moss on but there's no feeling of aspiration for that here; It's so refreshing to be in the middle of such an eclectic beachful of people - although that isn't to sat our pasty skin doesn't scream foreign - but feeling utterly comfortable sunbathing is a new ´phenomenon - gives me a good excuse to go to more beaches on my travels anyway!

09/12
Slept really badly last night due to the all you can eat buffet which the mozzies enjoyed last night courtesy of my legs. Itch-o-rama. Still, got our breakfast on, and on our last day in Salvador, headed back into Pelhourino o visit the Afro-Brazilian museum. The Bahai state has a massive african heritage due to the influx of Africans through the slave trade. Brazil was one of the first countries to abolish slavery, and has steadfast anti-racism laws in place. That is not to say that the Bahain people of african descent are not incredibly proud of their heritage.

The Afro-Brazilian Museum had a range of artefacts like weapons, art, tools and games - I was struggling to gain some knowledge reading all the Portuguese signs (set myself a challenge to learn!) and I definitely think that I am improving. The last room in the museum was filled with Cedarwood panels of various african gods, depicted through carvings overlaid with beading or metalwork - it was truly spectacular. We left the museum and treated ourselves to some lunch (a first for this trip) and we went to a 'Gramado' which basically is a pay as you weight (not bodyweight fortunately) but you put food on your plate and they weigh it - it was a really good way to try some new different foods - breadcrumb covered plantain - a surprising hit! It was so hot today that post-grub we decided to head back to the hostel for some serious hammock time. Currently waiting to set off for the overnight bus to Lençois in Chapada Diamantis for some hike time - I cannot wait. Google it and you will see why!

I will be really sad to leave this hostel - we have had an awesome time here - and I love Salvador. But onwards and upwards... or westwards.

Hope everyone's chipper and gay - let me know what's going on with you.

Big fat smooches.

Rxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb