La Paz to Cusco - 3rd Leg of my Pan American Trip


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia
April 17th 2015
Published: April 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia

A stall vendor with beautiful plaited hair at Lake Titicaca, Copacabana
Day 44 – 45 Copacabana – Thu 05 – Fri 06 Feb 2015

We leave La Paz and drive approx 200km to Lake Titicaca, Copacabana, the highest navigable lake in the world. We board a small foot ferry to Tiquina while Gus is taken across the lake separately. On our arrival to the port at Tiquina we take photos of Gus coming across the lake. It’s a small port with a few stalls; in the back ground workers attend to gardens in the centre with music playing in the background. After checking into our hotel which is beside the lake I take a walk through this delightful town. I visit the local cathedral which is whitewashed and in Moorish style surrounded by a wall. There are simple local fish restaurants and colourful stalls sending beautiful handicrafts.

The next day we visit the Isla de Sol in Lake Titicaca, which is the birthplace of the Inca Empire. It is quite a chilly morning so we all are wrapped up in fleeces, hats and scarves!

First we visit some early Inca ruins before starting our 14 km trek across the island. After some climbing we then trek along an undulating
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia

Gus crossing Lake Titicaca, Copacabana
path. Lunch is taken sitting amongst some ruins overlooking the lake. The afternoon we continue with the trek. The fast walkers ahead, but Lori and I are feeling the effects of the high altitude, so have to stop frequently to get our breath back. Lori’s husband Mike stays back with us, for which we are thankful.

The views are spectacular and along the way we see a few local people including a little boy who allows us to take is photo with a llama for a few bobs.

At the end of the trek we have a long descent down to the port, some of it steps and some just stones in earth. Lori and I take it slowly being that we are not so clever on steep uneven hills. On the way down we encounter locals bringing their donkeys / mules up the hill, so have to manoeuvre out of the animals’ way!

Eventually we get safely to the bottom and meet up with the rest of the group for our eventful boat ride back to the port. Once we got into the open lake the boat hit a storm. It was a covered small boat
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia

The port at Lake Titicaca, Copacabana
with seats two x two like that of a bus. The waves tossed us side to side and up and down, it was really scary and everyone were deadly silent. Nobody wanted to admit they were worried, however the crew were making several phone calls, which later we learnt was with the lake coast guards to see which port we should head to. At this time I really wished my Mike was here to reassure me; I was quite scared; However, after a while I thought to myself ‘don’t be so silly’ the crew are not panicking, the boat has not capsized so everything will be fine. I knew exactly where to find the life jackets should they be required, on this note I feel calmer. We arrived back to Tiquina in the dark safe and sound after an enjoyable if somewhat eventful day.

Tomorrow we leave Bolivia and enter Peru.


Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Watching the day go by at the port, Lake Titicaca, Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Gus arriving at the port at Lake Titicaca,Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

On the boat crossing Lake Titicaca to Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Our boat used to cross Lake Titicaca to Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Lake Titicacac waiting for the boat
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

A statute at the port, Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

One of the lively & colourful cafes at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Vibrant wall hanging in a cafe at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Moorish style Cathedral at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Moorish style Cathedral at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Bell towerr, Moorish style Cathedral at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Entrance wall gate to the cathedral at Copocabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Moorish style Cathedral at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

Virgin Mary,Cathedral at Copacabana
Copacabana, BoliviaCopacabana, Bolivia
Copacabana, Bolivia

In the grounds of Cathedral at Copacabana
Isla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, BoliviaIsla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, Bolivia
Isla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, Bolivia

Ancient Inca ruins, Isla de Sol
Isla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, BoliviaIsla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, Bolivia
Isla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, Bolivia

Trekking on the Isla del Sol
Isla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, BoliviaIsla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, Bolivia
Isla de Sol, Lake Titicaca, Bolivia

Ancient Inca ruins, Isla de Sol


22nd April 2015

Excellent adventure!
Good for you for traversing the Isla del Sol. I just discovered your blog and have been delighted with your journey. I've been traveling South America for the last 4.5 years and am now lingering in Arequipa, Peru, a beautiful while, colonial city. If you happen to pass this way, I'd be delighted to show you around my town. I also decided to become a traveler at age 11, inspired by an image of explorers at the pyramids. You can send me a message where it says "message" on my page. Even if we don't connect, I so admire your journey and wish you Buen Viaje!
29th April 2015

Thank you, lovely to hear from you
Hola Tara, Sorry I have not replied earlier due to weak or no internet connections. It was lovely to receive your comments. I have been traveling overland with a company called Dragoman since 24 Dec when we started in Ushuaia. I am currently in Los Cobanos, El Salvador and going all the way to Anchorage in Alaska. I have enjoyed the some wonderful experiences in both South and Central America and met some lovely people along the way. I have already been to your beautiful city of Arequipa. I would loved to have met up with you, we were only in Arequipa for one night. Tomorrow we cross over the border into Guatamala. I am behind with my blog, but hope to post my experiences of Peru soon when we have another free day and good internet connection. Muchas Gracias.
29th April 2015

Thank you, lovely to hear from you
Hola Tara, Sorry I have not replied earlier due to weak or no internet connections. It was lovely to receive your comments. I have been traveling overland with a company called Dragoman since 24 Dec when we started in Ushuaia. I am currently in Los Cobanos, El Salvador and going all the way to Anchorage in Alaska. I have enjoyed the some wonderful experiences in both South and Central America and met some lovely people along the way. I have already been to your beautiful city of Arequipa. I would loved to have met up with you, we were only in Arequipa for one night. Tomorrow we cross over the border into Guatamala. I am behind with my blog, but hope to post my experiences of Peru soon when we have another free day and good internet connection. Muchas Gracias.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb