Samaipata


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

(Noticing a trend in decreasing creativity in blog entry titles, and text in general)

The nature around the town of Samaipata either makes you want to grab a machette and explore the jungle/forest, or rent a hammock and enjoy an afternoon siesta. Having spent the last three weeks rushing around Bolivia, I finally decided to relax a bit and enjoy the tranquilidad that the Santa Cruz atmosphere has to offer.
Looking for a chance to stretch my legs (I didn´t feel like I´d gotten any exercise while in Bolivia) I arrived in Samaipata on Monday morning and immediately rushed to El Fuerte, the self-titled "Best Ruins in Bolivia." Although they were pretty cool (the ritualistic site contained engraivings of animals and niches), I´d just spent the past 2 weeks around Cusco, and El Fuerte really paled in comparrison to Machu Picchu. I took a shorter hike past some rabid dogs up to a vista above the town.
Like with Sucre, the prices were all based on how many people you could organize to do a tour or hike. So on Tuesday, despite paying too much by booking through a tour agency, I did a hike in Bella Vista. It included a short hike with great views of the ancient volcanic sandstone formations, as well as several hours trapsing through high jungle. We saw some really beautiful parrots, insects, morpho butterflies and a pair of toucans. Yestderday I was able to avoid the guides and started from Las Cuevas, hiked past several waterfalls and a couple hours upriver, climbed the adjacent mountain and back towards Samaipata. Today I was able to tag along on a cheaper tour of the Refugio de las Volcanes, which was similar but more spectacular than Bella Vista.
Tomorrow I do a self-guided canyon hike/swim before heading to Santa Cruz for the apparently famous Octoberfest. Then off to Paraguay (still haven´t found out what there is to do yet in Paraguay. Our guide today was from Asuncion and all he could tell me is that it is HOT) and Iguazu.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb