´Ride em cowboy!´


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Tupiza
January 24th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After finishing off our Salares tour late in the afternoon we were lucky enough to score tickets on the night train out of Uyuni to Tupiza. Once again there were troubles with the roads south, so we were very lucky to be in possesion of these train tickets. After another long night of no sleep, the next morning me and Karin said goodbye to Bridget and Russell and got off at Tupiza for a couple of days in the wild west.

If there is any where that you want to throw your leg over a hourse, brandish spurs and say, ´ride em cowboy´ this is it. Reminiscent of the American wild west, but more spectacular, the tranquil settlement is set at 2950m and ringed by an amzing landscape of rainbow coloured rocks, hills, mountains and canyons of the Cordillera de Chica. It was the apt setting for the demise of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid: after robbing an Aramayo payroll at Huaca Huanusca, some 40km north of Tupiza, the pair reputedly met their makers in the mnining village of San Vicente in 1908.

After spending three days stuck in a jeep, both me and Karin wanted some outdoor
TupizaTupizaTupiza

Rock formations
action. We decided to book a tour of the rugged quebradas (ravines) that involved moutain biking, hourse riding and a bit of a jeep tour. Well once again Bolivia did not disapoint and the scenery was amazing, and it was great to get out into the fresh air again. I was wondering how I was going to go on the horse, as I am not much of a rider. Well, I did pretty well, and even managed to trott with out any dramas. Once when we were trotting Karin decided that she want to gallop for a while and of course my horse decided that he wanted to do the same. Oh, you should have seen my face. I was apsolutely peaking. Karin came riding up beside me, took one look at the shit scared expression on my face and decided that may be we should go back to walking the horses. I was happy with that one. But you know me, I soon decided that I could handle the galloping stuff and off we went again. It was actually not that hard, and soon I was riding like a pro cowboy (Well I like to think so anyway). The
TupizaTupizaTupiza

Rock formations
day ended with two very sore, tired but extremely happy girls wadling bow legged back to the hostel.

As my visa for Bolivia was soon to expire (I can´t believe I was here almost a whole month!) we decided to head to Salta, Argentina the next day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Me and KarinMe and Karin
Me and Karin

Ride em cowboy!!
Interesting rock formationsInteresting rock formations
Interesting rock formations

Is it just me or.....
Rock formationsRock formations
Rock formations

You don´t want to fall down there
TupizaTupiza
Tupiza

For some reason we had to pose with the Cactus


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb