The Last Sunrise


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

31 Mayo - Salar de Uyuni
Got up this morning for sunrise with Nikki. We don't have breakfast until 9:00, but neither one of us wanted to miss our last sunrise in this incredible place, and possibly our last sunrise together.
Nikki has given me three incredible compliments, and the latest one came last night. Well, make that two, one was a random comment that I am taking as a compliment. The first came when we were in La Paz. I had bought some flowers for our hostel room and Nikki said that I was going to make someone a great husband someday. That is one of the nicest things that anyone has ever said to me.
The second was a couple of nights ago. We were in this awfully cold place, trying to warm up. So I had Kate and Nikki on either side of me, cuddling for warmth. After a bit we started to warm through our multiple layers of clothes and jackets. Nikki says, “JoLi, you’re so hot you’re burning my ear.” I said, “Thank you, Nikki. That’s the second nicest thing you have ever said to me.” Laughs all around. By the way, the girls have resorted to calling me JoLi, their new favorite nickname for me.
The latest, and truly the second nicest compliment, came last night. The conversation started with Nikki asking what I’m going to do without her and Kate. We go our separate ways today. My answer was to find a way to come back. She said my life would be boring without them, a joking reference to something that I’ve heard from two ex-girlfriends. I asked if she thought I was a boring person and her reply was, “You are one of the least boring people I have ever met.”
I am going to miss these girls.

Photos of Salar de Uyuni
Salar de Uyuni

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb