A Jeep Ride on Another Planet


Advertisement
Published: November 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The expression a picture is worth a thousand words is the impetus for this latest entry! Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

It´s all saltIt´s all salt
It´s all salt

2000 square miles (I think) of salt! Travellers must have sunglasses.
The crewThe crew
The crew

A couple from Poland, a man from Germany, Elaine (barely visible), I, and our ever-anxious driver-- Santiago. And salt.
That´s the roadThat´s the road
That´s the road

Sort of. There are many of these paths, and basically the driver chooses where to go.
A strange oasisA strange oasis
A strange oasis

An island in the middle of the flat. During the wet season (December-March) a lot of the salt will be submerged, and these cacti will be grateful for the gift.
Elaine and IElaine and I
Elaine and I

That´s Elaine and I standing on a rock.
A lone travelerA lone traveler
A lone traveler

I hope they have plenty of gas.
When I diedWhen I died
When I died

I forgot to bring water. Oops!
The World´s Strongest ManThe World´s Strongest Man
The World´s Strongest Man

Or at least most creative. That´s me holding Elaine and Magda without breaking a sweat.
The volcano againThe volcano again
The volcano again

And a cool shot. Look at how the outline of the rock matches the line of the mountains.
Real FlamingosReal Flamingos
Real Flamingos

Real flamingos!
A Flying FlamingoA Flying Flamingo
A Flying Flamingo

Almost. They have to get a running start before they can take off.
Why are Flamingos Pink?Why are Flamingos Pink?
Why are Flamingos Pink?

Elaine thinks because they eat shrimp. Except they don´t eat shrimp, they eat algae.
We Arrived on MarsWe Arrived on Mars
We Arrived on Mars

No plants anywhere. Yet in the distance you can see vicuñas.
Mars-- AgainMars-- Again
Mars-- Again

It´s very quiet here.
Freaking Cool RockFreaking Cool Rock
Freaking Cool Rock

Who is the greater eroder-- wind or water?
Our TeamOur Team
Our Team

In very cold accommodations. This is also the place where I learned the Polka is not a Polish dance. It´s Czech! I´ve been lied to my whole life.
Bolivian Fashion ShowBolivian Fashion Show
Bolivian Fashion Show

It´s actually the covershot from the Bolivian fashion mag-- The Dolly Llama.
Laguna ColoradoLaguna Colorado
Laguna Colorado

The red substance you´re seeing is the water!
Pools of Boiling WaterPools of Boiling Water
Pools of Boiling Water

It is also very cold here.
Another LagunaAnother Laguna
Another Laguna

Another laguna in an unbelievable place.
Well Done BoliviaWell Done Bolivia
Well Done Bolivia

You´ve claimed nice land for yourself... except you don´t have any coastline. I´m just sayin´.


13th November 2009

flamingos
eat red algae which is also pink in color...im just sayin...look it up

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb