Potosí, Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Potosi
February 8th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After el solar de Uyunia, Paul and I headed to Potosí, town at the highest alititude in the world! When the spaniards were in Potosí, they were mining for silver, there is no silver left today but the mines are still working in order to derive low quality zinc. I went on a tour through the mines where there are men working all around you like it´s the 1800´s- pushing the metal cards on the railways through the dark, wet caves. It´s a very hard lifestyle but insanly interesting; an awesome community of people full of traditions.

The day after the mine tour, some guys in my hostel were telling me about a party that was going on the next day at the mines for ¨Día del Compadre¨. Though I was packed and ready to catch a bus to Sucre, I decided to go with them to the party and head to Sucre with them later that night. Bestttt decision of my life! The party consisted of about 30 people hanging right outside of the mines, drinking beer, dancing and eating. I don´t think I sat out one dance that day! The people were amazing, though they basically have nothing,
MinesMinesMines

They work with no new technology whatsoever.
they share everything! Each one of us got a huge plate of food, a new beer every time we turned around, and the warmest welcome you could imagine!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Cerro RicoCerro Rico
Cerro Rico

Used to be a silver mine, now it´s a mine for low quality zinc.
Suited Up!Suited Up!
Suited Up!

Ready to go into the mines. Potosí is the tiny town behind me!
El TíoEl Tío
El Tío

Statue of the devil that they have a ceremony for every friday. The mountain is supposedly a woman ¨Pachamama¨ (mother earth) and el tío represents a few things. His big dong = proportionate to the big mountain in order to continue reproducing the minerals and continue mining. Llama fetus by his feet = the devil has to eat something so the miners leave that meat so he doesn´t eat the men (about 30 miners die every year). cocoa leaves (curbs appetite and keeps you awake, they don´t eat while working in the mines), alcohol (about 96 proof, fuerte!!), and cigarettes are things that consume everyday in the mines.
MinesMines
Mines

Two men digging up the minerals and sending them up in this bucket (attaches to an electric elevator aka rope that pulls it up to the next level, the only technology they use in the mines).
Cruisin´ through the minesCruisin´ through the mines
Cruisin´ through the mines

The mines are like dark, wet caves with a simple railway going through. The beginning of the caves are cold then the temperature levels out a little bit before becoming about 35 degrees celcius (almost 100 degrees F).
Blowing stuff up!Blowing stuff up!
Blowing stuff up!

We stopped at the miners market before the tour, in order to by little gifts for the miners (cigarettes, cocoa leaves and soda). We also bought some dinamite to entertain ourselves after the tour.
Música!Música!
Música!

¨Día del Compadre¨ party outside of the mines.
My Dancing PartnersMy Dancing Partners
My Dancing Partners

I don´t think I sat out one dance... the day ended with one of the miners breaking out a Michael Jackson dance!
My Drinking PartnersMy Drinking Partners
My Drinking Partners

...don´t think I sat out a beer either!
My favorite!!My favorite!!
My favorite!!

We danced all day! He worked in the mines for over 45 years!
Oops....Oops....
Oops....

By the end of the party she started getting a little jealous... oops.
La FiestaLa Fiesta
La Fiesta

¨El Día del Compadre¨. This thursday is ¨El Día de Comadre¨.
The BoysThe Boys
The Boys

The boys I met in the hostel and went to the miner´s party with, afterwards we all headed to Sucre.
EWW!EWW!
EWW!

Sorry, I know I keep posting pictures like this from the markets but I just can´t get over the whole skinned heads hanging there!!
WATER BALLOONS!!WATER BALLOONS!!
WATER BALLOONS!!

Okay, so I love this. There are people selling bags of water balloons, squirtguns and cans of foam everywhere you look. Kids sit on their balconys, chill in the plaza and hang from windows bombing everyone that walks by (at first I thought they were just out to get tourists but they get everyyyone!).
Orangggeee JuiiiicceeeOrangggeee Juiiiicceee
Orangggeee Juiiiicceee

One of my favorite things about south america, always fresh squeezed juice.
PlazaPlaza
Plaza

Cerro Rico is the mountain in the background where they do the mining.


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 63; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb