Doing something different.


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We wanted to cross another thing off the list of things we wanted to do in South America, so we booked a bike trip down the World's most dangerous road. We booked double suspension bikes and full face masks to make it as safe as possible. We had an early 7 am start and the tour agency had the bikes on top of a van and 8 other men were on the trip with us. We were taken to a really high hill and had breakfast and cups of coca tea. It was really freezing and we were thankful for the warm pants and jacket and gloves provided. After breakfast we took off - once on the road it was downhill for ages and through police check points and down, down. I do believe my double suspension was not working because my bum was really getting it. There was a place where the road went uphill - I got the bike put on the top of the van and had a ride up. Then to the top of another hill and all down hill again. I was no hero and never even tried to be leader of the pack, I think some of the men were pleased I was there, they knew no matter what, they would not be last. I think the ride took about 5 hours and I can say for certain that I never once did a pedal. I only had my feet on the pedals for balance and to try and lift my bum off the seat. I also had the breaks on for most of the ride, my wrists were really sore from breaking all the time.

There were apparently lots of crosses along the road where unfortunate cyclists and vehicle accidents had occurred. I never saw any of them. My total concentration went on watching for potholes so I could lift my bum and to keep as close to the cliff face as possible. It was an amazing trip. Three men fell off, one hit the cliff quite hard and was lucky to have a full face helmet on, otherwise we may have been picking up his teeth. At the end of the ride we went to a hotel and had a shower and really nice meal and were awarded t-shirts to say we had completed the trip.

We had a visit from the dr that night to say we had paid him in counterfeit money!!! More on this if I ever get a reply from the Peru Government.

I must say, my thighs were as sore as my chest was when I was put in hospital.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb