From Sorata to Emotional Security


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Sorata
March 21st 2008
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Road to SorataRoad to SorataRoad to Sorata

por carro pasamos ese lugar!
I'm ending my first week in Bolivia. 51 more to go!
As I wite I'm in Sorata- it's part of the La Paz department but five hours away from the city. To come here, we had to cross lots of mountains - HIGH MOUNTAINS. At one point we were in the Cumbre which is the highest place of the mountain we were crossing, and the clouds right next to us. It was crazy! My eyes saw the most amazing view; the cordillera of the Andes, the peaks covered with snow and going on endlessly, also the Lake Titicaca. Its huge and beautiful. Words and pictures cannot describe the majesty of Creation.
It's night already and Im feeling sick. Sore throat, aching body, no energy and fever - I want my mommy! I cant sleep because of my sickness so ive been reading a book they gave us at the SP orientation, HABITUDES - Images that form Leadership habits & attitudes, by Dr. Tim ELmore. It's a really great book. The first chapter was about the self-leadership (if thats a term). I wont go into details but in the end it had a survey. It said to rate yourself from 1-10 on
Alkali OasisAlkali OasisAlkali Oasis

where we stayed for two nights
the following areas:
- Self-Discipline (the ability to do right even if you dont feel like it).
- Core Values (the principles you live that enable you to take a moral stand).
- Sense of Identity (a healthy, realistic imaged based on who God made you to be).
- Emotinal Security (your emotional health that enables you to be stable and consistent).
I wouls say that I'm proud of how I rated on the first three, but the fourt really struck a never. However, if I was back home I would have rated differently. My family, Karla & Raffi are my Rocks. Ive been emotionally stable and consisten in the last three years or so beause of them. I love my parents to death! They have instilled in me habit #2. My brothers and sisters - each one of them, and brother in law! - are the best in the world :o) !! I've seen them live habit #1 and that has encouraged me to do the same. Karla and Raffi are the best friends in the world. Encouraging and very loyal, theyve helped me grow more in habit #3 - all of them combine makeup habit #4.
Moving to
RelaxingRelaxingRelaxing

the kids relaxing in the hammocks
Bolivia has changed that - I feel I've been cut out a leg and now I must learn to balance myself with one. All my life Ive heard that I should make God my Rock because He will always be there no matter what - and without wanting to sound too religious - I have to admit that that couldnt be any more truer in my life. Ive learned that I need to find my emotionally security in what I will always have; myself and God. I need to learn to be consistent and disciplined in keeping myself emotionally healthy and what I can't do leave it up to God cuz He will take care of the rest. He IS here with me, always.

So to end this note I have to say that La Paz, Bolivia, is like any other Latin America city. Of course, each have its own distinctive and unique qualities, but overall its a place where our commong language unites us *espanol* and a place where there are lots of needy people. I am happy to be able to serve them.

"May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Mountains and TressMountains and TressMountains and Tress

a view from the deck of the cabin
be pleasing in your sight,
O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer."
Psalm 19:14


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Getting some sunGetting some sun
Getting some sun

I was sooo sick!
Welcome to SorataWelcome to Sorata
Welcome to Sorata

Bienvenidos a Sorata
Real Madrid for lifeReal Madrid for life
Real Madrid for life

even in Sorata they know whats up
PeachesPeaches
Peaches

noticed the size of the guayabas next to the peaches - they were bite size (but tasted like regular a peach).
My RoomMy Room
My Room

I think I'm germophobic
RusticRustic
Rustic

the place was so "rustic" that my bathroom was outside!
WalkingWalking
Walking

on the last day we went for a walk
CrossingCrossing
Crossing

we walked, cross some waterfalls, then walked some more
CemeteryCemetery
Cemetery

in the end there was an old and big C E ME T E R Y!! ( eww)
cloudsclouds
clouds

it was a big spooky in the cemetery
What a view, no?What a view, no?
What a view, no?

On our way back this was besides us all day long!!


25th March 2008

aw susan hope you feel better soon! I love the pictures! Keep posting, I really enjoy reading about what your doing and learning, its very encouraging :)
25th March 2008

Hey Susana!... Aqui en Tegucigalpa trabajo con varios Bolivianos, me han hablado de su pais, pero esas fotos estan buenísimas. Que valiente de tu parte ir por esos rumbos a servir, que te mejores... y exitos!
27th March 2008

get well!!!
Get well soon Susan!! and enjoy your ministry there!! keep bloging!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb