Valle de la Luna


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
February 9th 2005
Published: February 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Another day in La Paz, I took care of some administrative tasks (laundry, reservations for my upcoming trip to the Salar de Uyuni, wine) and took a day trip to the semi famous Moon Valley of La Paz. I took a micro (1.80Bs.) through the entire town to Mallasa (where the valle de la luna is located). The bus ride took me through a very rich looking district of La Paz and actually took almost an hour. La Paz is a lot bigger of a city than i had originally thought.

Upon arrival at the valle I popped in my new Juanes CD (to those of you who don{t know who juanes is, you are losers) and rocked out while meandering through the paths in the valle. It is an odd sight. I didn{t have anyone to explain why exactly the place looks like it does, but it appears that some odd erosion has gone on, leaving weird pillars of dirt with strange patterns on their sides. The pictures will have to suffice in describing it, because words cannot. It was an interesting thing to see, but only took up about an hour to hike through the entire thing.

I met Tom that night as he got back from his 2 day trip to Copacabana and Isla del Sol. We were to leave for the "Worlds most dangerous road" the next day. if only we knew what the day would have in store for us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me in the ValleMe in the Valle
Me in the Valle

I took this with my handy mini tripod.
Self Portrait in the ValleSelf Portrait in the Valle
Self Portrait in the Valle

I´m getting damn good at holding my camera out and shooting my own picture.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb