Copacabana y la isla del Sol


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Isla del Sol
December 12th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After inly 2 days in Peru, I cross the border and enter in Bolivia. There is no bank in Copacabana but I manage to change some Chilean pesos and pay for a boat ticket for Isla del Sol where I want to spend a night.

Before boarding, I have some time to wander around Copacabana, its famous church and above all its numerous shops. There's a lot to buy and it's even cheaper than in Peru! I see some people gathered on the main square, it's a hunger strike. It seems they're against a reform of the president Morales who wants to bypass the current laws in order to impose his agenda. Bolivia seems to be going through a lot of pressure and there have been many demonstrations from the opposition especially in the richer regions of the North like Santa Cruz.

I get on board just on time and enjoy the scenery from the boat while we're sailing on the Titicaca Lake.

Isla del Sol is quite small, it's easy to explore it on foot in a short time. I'll just stay for a night, I find a nice room with a view and start to walk looking for some oldd temple ruins I won't really find. No matter because the landscapes are truly amazing, the lake is surrounded by snomwy mountains and there are plenty of islands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb