so many mosquitos...


Advertisement
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

QuirquiQuirquiQuirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
It appears that I have arrived in the midst of a mosquito epidemic, far beyond those of normal years. They drive you nearly insane on a daily basis - the whining noise, the abundant itchy bites, the disfiguration of your entire body, the threat of malaria .... need I go on? I´ll never complain about being bitten by bugs in Australia ever again, there´s nothing that compares to this! The most fun part (not) is that we can´t wear insect repellent around the animals in case they lick us and make themselves sick. I kind of pooh-poohed this at first until I saw how my puma Gato responds to things with strong smells. He rubs his face all over the area and drools profusely, and there´s very few things in this world more disgusting than being covered in puma drool, let me tell you.
Other than the whole drooling thing, Gato is an unbeatable cat (the refugio looks down on us beating the animals...). Every day I´m liking him more and more, it will be sad leaving him at the end of the day Saturday (my last working day), but I´ll be in on Sunday to take heaps of photos before
QuirquiQuirquiQuirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
I go, batteries permitting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
leafleaf
leaf

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
QuirquiQuirqui
Quirqui

Inti Wara Yassi
view of town from the miradorview of town from the mirador
view of town from the mirador

Villa Tunari, Bolivia
spider monkeyspider monkey
spider monkey

Inti Wara Yassi
Gato´s death stareGato´s death stare
Gato´s death stare

Inti Wara Yassi
look at those teeth!look at those teeth!
look at those teeth!

Inti Wara Yassi
my beautiful Gatomy beautiful Gato
my beautiful Gato

Inti Wara Yassi
more spider monkeysmore spider monkeys
more spider monkeys

Inti Wara Yassi
more spider monkeysmore spider monkeys
more spider monkeys

Inti Wara Yassi
butterfly on leafbutterfly on leaf
butterfly on leaf

Inti Wara Yassi
view from the hammockview from the hammock
view from the hammock

Inti Wara Yassi
view of the mountainsview of the mountains
view of the mountains

Inti Wara Yassi
Euphorbia cotiniifoliaEuphorbia cotiniifolia
Euphorbia cotiniifolia

everywhere around Villa Tunari (heaven!)


30th January 2006

Em's gone soft!!
What is this "My Beautiful Gato"!?!?!? Even the kids think you have gone soft!! Watch he doesn't bite your bum!
3rd April 2006

Your photos are beautiful, just looking at them has made me want to visit inti wara yassi even more

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 108; dbt: 0.1166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb