Last week in Sucre ... So sad to leave this beautiful city and my beautiful family!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
February 23rd 2015
Published: February 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

J-22 February 16 2015 (Holiday – Feriado)

After a weekend in Oruro, I got to Sucre at 7am. First thing I did (even before saying Hi! to my family) is to take a shower as I didn’t have one since Thursday. My family thought I would go to bed after (because they thought I was tired) but no! I actually went to the market with one of the cousins of the family. In the afternoon, I worked on my blog … To get home from the Internet Café, I had to run (very fast) as kids were throwing water balloons and it was so cold outside!!! At night, I was chilling with my family and doing my homework. FUN STORY: My family (and the other two American women that study in the same school as me) told me they saw me on TV during the Carnival. #BIG IN BOLIVIA (LOL)



J-23 February 17 2015 (Holiday – Feriado)

In the morning, I went with one of my host sisters and her cousin to the cemetery. It may sound strange but it is the most beautiful cemetery I saw in my life as it looks like a huge park. After that, we went to buy so homemade cheese and avocados (6 for 1.50$) in the Central Market. As it was the last day of the Carnival, the family prepared a BBQ at home. It was really good!! After the BBQ, the tradition is to throw water at each other. It was really fun because everybody participated, even my host mom which is over 60! There was water all over the house. One of my host brothers even threw me in the pool (where there is only 50 cm of water … OUCHHH). At night, we first went to visit the new apartment of one of my host sisters (beautiful new apartment) before going to the apartment of another of my host sisters.



J-24 February 18 2015

I took it easy on Wednesday. I had my Spanish lesson in the morning (first in the past 6 days). At night, I tried a pizza place with my Korean friend Soo-Jin. We tried their ‘’Signature Pizza’’, which is made of ham, pineapple, cherries, chocolate … It was probably one of the most disgusting things I hate in my life, but I was happy to try it! FUN STORY: During the day, I went to eat a fruit salad (first in 6 days) and the women remember my name and she even asked: Donde esta Carlos (Charles, my American friend)?



J-25 February 19 2015

The cousin that was there for the past week had to fly back to Santa Cruz in the morning. She was a bit weird. She gave me her home phone number, cell phone, email address, and said I should visit her (the night before she even wanted to give me a massage …). I missed my morning Spanish class to pick up my friend Zeljka at the airport. I went by bus (1h15 and payed 0.30$) instead of taking the taxi (0h20 and paying 4$). Zeljka had lunch with my family. In the afternoon, I went with her to her hostel. We didn’t do much as she was very tired from her trip!



J-26 February 20 2015

During my Spanish lesson break, we went to the Saltenas place again (delicious)! I met with Zeljka in the afternoon. We went to renew my Visa (lucky that I am Canadian, because it is free for us). I also bought two more books in Spanish (6$)! I then went with Zeljka to that local Café and, at night, we went to eat Pad Thai at Florin (it was pretty bad).



J-27 February 21 2015

I had my last Spanish lesson in the morning. To thank my professor, I gave him a bottle of maple syrup! In the afternoon, Zeljka and I walked for a few hours, from the center, to the cemetery, to Recoleta …. We were so tired at the end of the day! At night, I had a dinner at the Central Market with Soo-Jin, and we went to have some wine after that! FUN STORY: When I was walking with Zeljka in the cemetery, we got to a place and we couldn’t go straight as there was a wall. I told her: I think this is a ‘’dead end’’ (Loll, funny but not so funny).



J-28 February 22 2015

I finished my first book in Spanish in less than 2 weeks (La Quinta Montana – 234 pages). Also, I shaved for the first time in 3 weeks (see the pics before and after)! As it was my last weekend with the family, they invited me to go to a restaurant with them (the whole family was there) that was located in a village one hour from Sucre. It was a beautiful day! I probably got the best host family and I will miss them so much. As they say, now I have 8 siblings: my brother in Canada and 3 sisters and 4 brothers in Bolivia. I actually thing I could spend my whole 6 months in Sucre, but Tuesday will be time to say bye to them …. When we got back to Sucre, I met with Zeljka at her hostel. Another Canadian guy that was at her hostel was preparing Enchiladas, so I had supper with them!



Well, that is for my daily blogs! Tuesday, Zeljka and I will be heading to Potosi (highest city in the world) before going to the world famous salt flats: Salar de Uyuni. From now on, I will post less and my blogs will be shorter, but with more pictures. For the following six weeks, I will be a tourist moving almost every second day to see a new city!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb