Day 42 - When Chris Gave Me a Heart Attack


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast at "Backpackers Hostel" was as stingy as the reviews had suggested - 2 bread rolls with only enough butter and jam to cover half of one! But we weren't complaining at only 4.50 (pounds) each for our private room! We set off to climb the tower of a church on top of a hill for a good view of the city - but I got distracted by a market and the church closed before we got there. Still got an excellent view though, and some more brilliant purchases at the market to decorate our house in Manchester! No doubt the colours of Bolivia might be a bit colourful for our place in the UK, which I see as an excuse to buy enough to cover the place! In fact I've already planned a trip back to said market on Wednesday, before a lazy lunch in the restaurant on the hill with an amazing view! Must say I've been very impressed with Chris's Spanish today - only 3 lessons and a phrase book and he often picks up on things quicker than me!

Back in the centre we saw the aptly decorated bus to the site of dinosaur footprints preparing to leave and checked they would be making an afternoon trip so we could fit lunch in. We found a traditional place filled with locals ("La Vieja Bodega"), and not feeling hungry enough for the 4 course almuerzo (despite the bargainous price of 2.50) we made our order. Shortly after, Chris said he felt a little light headed. Next thing I know he was hanging his head and made a choking sound as if being sick, then his head crashed onto the table and he was out cold for a good few seconds. I rushed over and he was as white as the buildings we were surrounded by, pouring with sweat. I called his name half a dozen times with no response, and all I could think was that I couldn't remember the recovery position, or CPR, and I didn't know the Bolivian number for the ambulance service. I was terrified. A man from another table and a waiter came over and Chris came around looking exceedingly confused. The waiter was lovely, moving us to a table in the fresh air and offering local nausea remedies. A gorgeous lunch (brocheta of meats and veggies with rice and French fries) seemed to perk him up, but I forced him to go back to bed (much to his disgust) instead of hunt for dino footprints, which we could postpone until tomorrow.

After the cheapest internet session ever (20p per hour) a not so traditional restaurant caught our eye - Chinese!! After umm-ing and ah-ing for a while we went in and had our first evening meal in 4 days! I filled up pretty quickly!

Chris's Corner

I would like to write about my fainting experience in the slightly stuffy inside area of the La Vieja Bodega but unfortunately I don't remember it! They always talk about the temperature in the shade, but I don't care about this, it was bloody hot in direct sunlight! I think the combination of little sleep the night before, a slight lack of food, and blistering heat while climbing the hill made me feel generally a bit funny and encouraged what ensued. Not really ever getting ill, I'm starting to feel a little less invincible on this trip.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb