Sucre


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
March 23rd 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Sucre after 9 hours on a chicken bus. You have to look at the photo to clearly understand this. The road between Uyuni and Potosi is just mud and sand. Occassionally we literally drove over a river (thank goodness we didn´t get stuck). It had been raining cats and dogs, so everything was flooded. Chicken bus meant that our luggage was put on the roof of the bus (and got wet), and Bolivians who needed a ride would stand in the aisle, with their bums in my face. There wasn´t a toilet on the bus (toilet? bus?), so I didn´t drink anything the whole day. To top it off, halfway into the trip, the bus had a flat tire, so we stood outside in the rain.

I wanted desperately to be in Sucre on Sunday, since 65km away in Tarabuco would be a big annual festival (it´s every 3rd weekend in March). (turns out I miscalculated the weekend anyways - today is the 4th weekend since March has 5) It consists of all the indigenous people around Sucre coming together at a big market.

I took a bus (80 BS = € 0.80) there. It was a huge market! Starting in the plaza and going down each lane outwards. It was full of colour. Amigos and amigas selling colourful cloth, bags, jumpers, necklaces and vegetables. Some were even selling old old old TVs and radios. The kids enjoyed saying ´hola´ to me and got a real kick out of me saying it back. They would giggle and run away.

I felt uncomfortable being there, and wish I had even shabbier clothes on. I couldn´t get the courage to take many pictures, since I didn´t want to show off my camera and hence displaying my ´wealth´ (unlike other tourists who hang them off their shoulders).

The Bolivians in general are a friendly and happy folk, who don´t hesitate to shoot you their biggest toothless smiles (this is a reminder to brush your teeth!). Unlike the Argentines, they harress you terribly to buy things. Unlike the Argentines, who even smile when you don´t buy anything, the Bolivians walk away in disappointment and sometimes a huff. This breaks my heart.

I took the chicken bus back after trying some local cuisine and buying 2 armbands off a very old indigenous lady. A third of the way into the trip, the bus suddenly stopped, and an elderly local woman ran out to the side of the road where some goats were grazing. She took a rope and ran to a goat, and caught it around its neck, turned it over and tied its 4 legs together. The driver then put the goat on the roof and carried on. The goat never baaad one word.

okayyyyyy

Anyways, I will stay in Sucre (despite the cold) for 4 days to hopefully take an intensive Spanish course. I don´t like Bolivia much, since it is surrounded by mountains and is constantly cold due the height of the cities! I will head to Lake Titicaca (3800 m high) this weekend.

Interesting: Men have a real advantage when it comes to the loo. One amigo went to the door of the bus while it was driving and simply peed out of the door.

ps: For the first time I really feel in holiday mode. Woke up at 11am this morning and didn´t want to do a thing :-)

Educational: Have my first Spanish lesson tomorrow morning (8am!) for 4 hours. If I like it, I will do it for 3 days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



24th March 2009

destinations
Hi Sil, looks like you are giving south America good tour. Where are the next few cities you will be going to? Maybe a list :)
24th March 2009

Keep the blog coming!
Hi Silvia, Just got back from a daytrip to Macau and have read your escapades while waiting for a friend to pick me up from my hotel. Looking forward to reading the next installments! Mike
24th March 2009

wierd snow!
I think you must have a some super natural powers as we have had small pebble like snow throughout the day in Vienna as well! just went out side and thought about you. You must be in spanish class right now. ¡Buena Suerte!
24th March 2009

I love that you add comments - i like reading them, and it shows I´m not ´talking´ to nobody. Fri - Potosi (Bolivia) Sat - La Paz (Bolivia) Mon - Puna (Peru) Then: Lake Titikaka (Peru), Run up Machu Pichu and Inka Trail, then down to Chile : Iquique, San Pedro, Valparaiso, Santiago and then fly to Rio De J (Brazil) which reminds me, I need to arrange a ticket!
25th March 2009

Cechua
Now, you got to learn Kechua!
26th March 2009

Good stuff
Really enjoying reading of your adventures. Keep it up!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb